Electrical Box In Brick (Interior) - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2011, 02:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Box In Brick (Interior)


Hey all.

I lurk this forum all the time, but I've come accross something I haven't been able to find through searching.

We bought a 1928 duplex about 6 months ago and are now working on updating the upstairs before we move in. We pulled the carpet and found three live receptacles in the living room area prevously covered by carpet. If possible I want to move them to the walls. The walls are plaster with what looks like brick behind them. Is this normal to not have lath behind the plaster? Each of the walls are exterior walls - which are concrete for about 3 feet and then brick.

Ive included a picture of one of the receptacles, and can get one from below if needed (not directly below, but a few feet over, so see what it looks like between the floor joists).

Would it be okay to chisel out the brick and put a new box, or is there going to be lath a foot or so up and I can just drill a small hole and run a wire through it?

Thansk everyone!
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

litleclay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 02:54 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,038
Rewards Points: 2,874
Default

Electrical Box In Brick (Interior)


Plaster over brick, stone or block is a common technique. Lath is typically used to span the gap when you have a framing system like studs.

You may be able to surface mount the receptacles on the wall with a conduit stub down into the basement.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 03:29 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,240
Rewards Points: 2,390
Default

Electrical Box In Brick (Interior)


Pull the box back into the cellar or crawl space and use as a junction box. Surface mount a low profile WireMold box, with a short piece of WireMold from the box down through the floor. Run A short piece of 12 or 14 gauge (20 or 15 amp circuit) cable from the WireMold box to the Junction box. This assumes you can use cable in your area.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 06:16 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical Box In Brick (Interior)


We're actually trying to avoid have surface mounted boxes altogether - but that seems like its out of the question. Unsafe to chip out some brick? I've seen the thin boxes, and I'm wondering if chipping out 1 to 1 1/2 inches of the brick will be okay.
litleclay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 year old Brick Wall Repair Bobrobert General DIY Discussions 15 11-22-2011 04:07 PM
Ugly brick on front of house jetrep General DIY Discussions 5 06-01-2011 07:58 AM
vapor barrier on gutted brick house Kirky Building & Construction 1 10-02-2010 04:07 PM
Insulating brick above & close to grade Peter Shepherd Building & Construction 1 09-16-2009 07:41 AM
shim an electrical box in exterior brick wall? sometimes handy Electrical 4 09-07-2009 11:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts