Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2013, 11:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

electrical automation


Anyone knows of a good automation program for a 2500 ft house. Thanks for the help

RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 01:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

electrical automation


For what, lighting, appliances, heat? Start with X10

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 01:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

electrical automation


It'll be general lighting. No appliances
RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 01:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

electrical automation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
For what, lighting, appliances, heat? Start with X10
Its Gen. Lighting no appliances
RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

electrical automation


For cheap gear : X10
For great gear : Insteon
Seattle2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:37 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

electrical automation


Quote:
Originally Posted by Seattle2k View Post
For cheap gear : X10
For great gear : Insteon
Thanks man ill look up these brands
RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:43 PM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,472
Rewards Points: 2,288
Default

electrical automation


As noted above....x10 is going to be on the cheap side....about par to Harbor Freight tools....

As another referece....try out SmartHome
http://www.smarthome.com/_/index.asp...FcaiPAodO3AAHQ

One other note.....a lot of the automation switches require a neutral at your switch box, so be cogizant of the wiring needs for the modules.

And....if you do put something together....do the rest of us a favor and do a thread on it and share what you learned.....I'd much rather learn from someone elses mistakes and successes.....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 02:53 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

electrical automation


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
As noted above....x10 is going to be on the cheap side....about par to Harbor Freight tools....

As another referece....try out SmartHome
http://www.smarthome.com/_/index.asp...FcaiPAodO3AAHQ

One other note.....a lot of the automation switches require a neutral at your switch box, so be cogizant of the wiring needs for the modules.

And....if you do put something together....do the rest of us a favor and do a thread on it and share what you learned.....I'd much rather learn from someone elses mistakes and successes.....
Sure ill keep youguys up to date with the installation thanks
RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 04:19 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 12
Default

electrical automation


I've been in process of automating my house with a combination or z-wave and insteon and the biggest issue for me has been with dimmers after the cost. Not all dimmers are created equally if you plan to use them. Incandescent ones (the cheapest) generally don't work well with LEDs mainly due to them using less power than the minimum rating for the switch, unless your dimmer also has a neutral wire or you want to get creative adding resistors to simulate the load. Also if you have fancy fixtures that use a transformer box you need to be aware of the transformer type (Magnetic Low Voltage (MLV) or Electronic Low Voltage (ELV)) or you could blow the switch, the fixture, or both. I got bit by that and ended up having to spend almost $200 for a single ELV switch.

If you don't care about dimmers then it doesn't really matter because it's just an on-off relay
zolakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:04 PM   #10
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

electrical automation


I've had X10 for over 30 years. I've had Insteon for over 5 years. Insteon is superior to X10. Very few problems and all have been with the software. I've lost a couple of Insteon devices early on but were replaced under the 2 year warranty without a problem. I've installed insteon in homes where the customer doesn't want to rip down an entire ceiling. and installed it in a second home with the six button scene controller. Eliminates a lot of hassle and looks a lot better than X10
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:16 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 240
Rewards Points: 168
Default

electrical automation


I hate X10. Very unreliable. I have a bunch of UPB devices and have few problems with them. Mine are driven by an HAI system, but you can get simpler and less expensive timer systems from PCS or Simply Automated.
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:28 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

electrical automation


Thanks for all the feedback you guys helped a lot. With so many options ill just let the client decide
RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:06 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

electrical automation


If you are going to be working as a contractor, you should learn to do your own homework instead of relying on a DIY website.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 09:35 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

electrical automation


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
If you are going to be working as a contractor, you should learn to do your own homework instead of relying on a DIY website.
What's wrong with asking about a reliable brand its not like I'm asking how to do it I'm sure even you have been helped once or twice
RAUL HIDALGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 10:05 PM   #15
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

electrical automation


Quote:
Originally Posted by RAUL HIDALGO View Post
Anyone knows of a good automation program for a 2500 ft house. Thanks for the help
A wife, yourself, or your kid turning off the light switches as you leave or enter the room.

2500sqft is not that large of a house.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 09:48 AM
Electrical Panel Upgrade & Main Water Shut Off DIYerIT Electrical 2 09-02-2010 02:42 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
Usefull Electrical Web Sites PaliBob Electrical 1 02-03-2009 10:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.