Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 08:14 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

electrical


I have 4 black wires 4 white wires and 4 ground wires and 2 switches, 1 switch is for outside and 1 switch is for inside the door and the other wire is for the other switch.

1 of the black wires is hot, I wire the 4 ground wires together and attached to the boxes. I also attached the 4 white wires together. how do i wire the 1 (black)hot to the 3 black wires with 2 switches

There is no red wire and 2 small wires that are black

Last edited by dubes; 03-23-2011 at 08:26 PM.
dubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:31 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

electrical


Most likely you have:

1) Feed in
2) Feed out
3) Switched load #1
4) Switched load #2

You'll have to experiment with the other 3 wires, to determine whether they represent switched loads, or one that should remain on regardless of what those switches are doing.

Then, you'll have to connect the wires together that represent the feeds (in and out), and connect pigtails from there to feed your switches.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Bathroom - all electrical on one circuit? how to change? Steve19 Electrical 16 03-14-2011 09:32 AM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
How to install new electrical box without attic access gilmores33 Electrical 10 02-14-2010 07:46 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.