Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-12-2011, 10:32 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

electrical


i was told i could run 6/2 wire to a detached garage so i did its in conduit buried 2-3 feet deep so when i wired sub-panel [murray box]the left side bus bar is dead so the only way to get things to work is to have the nuetral and ground on same bus bar [right side] what did ido wrong or am i screwed

ted 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 10:37 AM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by ted 66 View Post
i was told i could run 6/2 wire to a detached garage so i did its in conduit buried 2-3 feet deep so when i wired sub-panel [murray box]the left side bus bar is dead so the only way to get things to work is to have the nuetral and ground on same bus bar [right side] what did ido wrong or am i screwed
You didn't put in enough wires. You need four wires feeding your garage.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 11:22 AM   #3
Love for Construction
 
<*(((><'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Idaho
Posts: 318
Default

electrical


Disconnect the feed wires to the garage, pull the wires back through the conduit, add another 6 gauge wire to them (if the conduit is sized for it) and pull the 4 wires back through the conduit.
__________________
-luke-
<*(((>< is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 11:30 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

electrical


Lets hope you over killed your conduit size. Like said above you must pull all of them back out. If you can sacrifice one conductor, you can use one of them to pull two back in.
Before you do anything, call the local building inspectors office and ask them what code cycle you are on. If you are on 2008 or 2011 you must have a four wire feeder. If you are on 2005 and before, three wire feeders are allowed. But you need three wires. H-H-N.

You said 6/2. Does that mean you pulled a cable, or did you just pull two individual #6 wires?

6/2 signifies a cable and you should have two insulated wires and one uninsulated grounding conductor in the cable. Lets hope it is a cable and that you are on an older code cycle. Before 2008.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Bathroom - all electrical on one circuit? how to change? Steve19 Electrical 16 03-14-2011 09:32 AM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 10:28 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.