Electrical - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-09-2011, 04:40 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Electrical

Hi my name is Al I am new to this forum . I am a home inspector and see this on ocassion. The netural circuit wires are connected to the same grounding bar I know this is unsafe and need a clarification as to why. I think I Know the answer but need to confirm.

Advertisement

User107681 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 05:00 PM   #2
I=E/R

Rewards Points: 1,000

Electrical

Perfectly fine in a main panel but not OK in a sub panel.

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 05:15 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"

Rewards Points: 2,390

Electrical

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Pirro View Post
Hi my name is Al I am new to this forum . I am a home inspector and see this on ocassion. The netural circuit wires are connected to the same grounding bar I know this is unsafe and need a clarification as to why. I think I Know the answer but need to confirm.
You are a home inspector and do not know when the neutral and ground must be isolated and when not. Don't inspect my house!
Old 03-09-2011, 06:03 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 77

Electrical

And you are a home inspector where?
davido30093 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 06:53 PM   #5

Electrical

It's definitely a SAFE thing, if anything (hot) ever went to ground it would trip. If anything (hot) ever went to neutral it would only trip if the neutral/ ground WERE connected ( bonding strap ) . If not connected the neutral would stay energized, ( which you don't want ). Any sub-panel should not have bonding strap or bonding screw, ground & neutral should be isolated. Just main panel requires it.
Jeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:05 PM   #6
Licensed electrician

Rewards Points: 2,880

Electrical