Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2009, 11:47 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
Share |
Default

electrical


Any good electricians out there? I think I may finally be getting to the electrical and plumbing part of this house. New construction. Home is 3 floors basement, main, and upstairs 32 x 40 has 12 x 28 mud room on side with crawlspace and 2 1/2 car garage with concrete slab floor and bonus room over. Electric pole with meter is to left side of house(non-garage side) only about 20' or so from basement. If I run electric underground and into basement can I wire whole house from there? Or do I need to set another pole and wire from garage. Kinda feel weird about running main wire from left side of house to right side. Is that too far? Any set-up ideas. Wouldnt be hard to run underground from existing pole and into basement, would have to drill thru 12" block, but also would be nice to have electric panels in garage. Any ideas on how to set this up?

joan smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 03:31 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,982
Default

electrical


Whew....you ask for a lot!!! My comment would just be since the meter is on the pole I'd go directly below it to a Main disconnect (main breaker) for your service size. Then I'd trench to wherever I wanted my load center and install an appropriate 4 wire feeder between the main breaker and the panel. You have got one heck of a lot to understand about all this and I would say it is close to impossible for you to get it right and safe asking the questions you have listed. I'd seriously consider hiring an electrical contractor.

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 04:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 35
Default

electrical


I will hire electrical contractor, of course. I was just trying to get a feel for overall setup, no way do I try to wire. Thank you so much!
joan smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
low-voltage and electrical wiring sharing same stud space jheavner Electrical 21 10-06-2011 11:16 AM
Electrical Engineer allowed to do Electrical work? SarahJennifer Electrical 48 09-21-2009 08:15 PM
Usefull Electrical Web Sites PaliBob Electrical 1 02-03-2009 10:49 AM
Electrical Box near Shower Valve dasajame Electrical 3 07-07-2008 06:46 AM
2 Prong Electrical mjcongleton Electrical 10 04-16-2008 08:59 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.