Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2008, 12:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

electrical


I am renovating an existing apartment above our garage. I want to install split receptacles in the kitchen using as a power source an existing 240 outlet on double 20 amp breaker. Wires runing to the outlet are in a red sheathed wire consisting of one red, black and ground - no white neutral. Wire gauge is 10. Can I connect spit receptacles without a neutral?

ghufnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 12:46 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

electrical


No. Was this old wire for a cooktop or wall oven?

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 12:47 PM   #3
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

electrical


This post scares me if you don't know what you are doing call an electrician. But since it is a diy site no you can't have a 120v outlet without the neutral. Since it is an apartment I would call an elctrician.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 12:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Default

electrical


Panel marking says wiring was used for a sewing machine. Receptacle has two horizontal slots plus ground.
ghufnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 01:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

electrical


Must of been one hell of a sewing machine. No luck with using that circuit as a Multiwire branch circuit.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 01:09 PM   #6
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 353
Default

electrical


Quote:
Receptacle has two horizontal slots plus ground.
Thats a NEMA 6-15. It is for 240 volts and 15 amps. The cable you describe is a cable that is made for 240 volts only. (it has no white wire) which tells me you are from Canada. (we don't have that style cable in the US) I also believe it is illegal for you to reidenify one wire as a nuetral to reuse the cable as a 120 volt circuit. You would have to rewire with a 3 wire cable in order to have a mulitwire circuit.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 01:09 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 93
Default

electrical


Thats one heckuva sewing machine (enough power for 5hp)
Must have been for sewing chainmail
daxinarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 01:16 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Default

electrical


Thanks for the info. I'll clip the wires and run a new 14/3
ghufnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 04:46 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by ghufnagel View Post
Thanks for the info. I'll clip the wires and run a new 14/3

If its a real kitchen then you have to use #12 AWG.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 04:55 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

electrical


I would assume the OP is in Canada. We don't have that "240v cable" here in the US.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 05:15 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Default

electrical


That's correct. What I find interesting is that even when I disconnected one of the terminals on the recepticle, both red and black were live. How does this work without a neutral?
ghufnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 05:18 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
Default

electrical


I don't know about real kitchens but in Ontario, 14/3 is code for split receptacles in kitchens
ghufnagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 06:43 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by ghufnagel View Post
That's correct. What I find interesting is that even when I disconnected one of the terminals on the recepticle, both red and black were live. How does this work without a neutral?
A 240v circuit is a line-to-line circuit. NO neutral is involved.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the ICC Electrical Code? Chuck Electrical 7 02-20-2013 10:19 AM
Electrical Box near Shower Valve dasajame Electrical 3 07-07-2008 06:46 AM
2 Prong Electrical mjcongleton Electrical 10 04-16-2008 08:59 AM
Please Help - Weird electrical issue affecting home network sxpsxpsxp Electrical 23 02-03-2008 11:42 AM
Code Question: Electrical and plumbing ELurie Electrical 2 08-22-2007 08:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.