Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2008, 09:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

electrical


What size wire do I need to hitch up a 7HP 240V 15A compressor with a run of 60'?

nonotoriani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2008, 09:56 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Default

electrical


Forget the HP. It is a false rating.

If the amp draw actually is 15 then 12/2 would be fine for that distance.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 10:45 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,385
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by nonotoriani View Post
What size wire do I need to hitch up a 7HP 240V 15A compressor with a run of 60'?
7 HP and 15 amps is contradiction of terms. Like being fat and weighing 120 lbs. A true single phase 7.5 HP motor draws about 40 amps full load at 230 volts. 15 amp full load is more like 2 or 3 HP motor at 240 volts.
You need to refer to the compressor manual for the size of circuit required and the voltage. A 15 amp circuit requires #14 wire. A 20 amp circuit requires #12 wire..

Last edited by joed; 03-22-2008 at 10:48 AM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 11:06 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

electrical


Does the Compressor have cord and plug on it. Most small compressors are designed to be plugged into a 20 amp recetacle. Plug it in.
As said above a true 7.5 Hp single phase motor at 240 volt will draw around 40 amps. There is no way the motor is 7.5 hp.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 02:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

electrical


If the compressor truly draws 15 amps, you will need a 20A dedicated line with #12/2 wire.
If it uses a standard type 3-wire plug, make sure the receptacle it's plugged into is rated for 20A, not one of the cheapie 15A ones. If it's a special plug, then obviously it will have the correct rating.
I always liked to use Hubble plugs/receptacles for heavy loads.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2008, 08:19 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by fw2007 View Post
If it uses a standard type 3-wire plug, make sure the receptacle it's plugged into is rated for 20A, not one of the cheapie 15A ones.

FW

I hate to be the one to break this to you, but a 15 amp and a 20amp receptacle have the same guts installed, just a different shell...

Last edited by chris75; 03-22-2008 at 08:24 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:01 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
I hate to be the one to break this to you, but a 15 amp and a 20amp receptacle have the same guts installed, just a different shell...
Thanks for that info. I still prefer to buy the more expensive 20A, because the shell looks like it will take more "abuse".
Does what you say apply also to the Hubbel products? I would hate to think so, as they cost so much more.
Then, I have not seen any Hubbel standard duplexes. All I've seen and used were specialty devices.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2008, 10:14 AM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Default

electrical


A 15 or 20 amp "spec grade" receptacle is made EXACTLY the same.
The ONLY difference is the slot configuration.
Much of the cost difference is in supply and demand.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the ICC Electrical Code? Chuck Electrical 7 02-20-2013 10:19 AM
Can a homeowner perform electrical work in MA? dpd512 Electrical 77 04-11-2012 06:48 AM
Please Help - Weird electrical issue affecting home network sxpsxpsxp Electrical 23 02-03-2008 11:42 AM
OK to put electrical outlet into storage area under stairs? melanie_s Electrical 1 12-29-2007 04:09 PM
Code Question: Electrical and plumbing ELurie Electrical 2 08-22-2007 08:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.