Electrical - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 12:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
tbone4469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electrical


Is there a way to trace old lines without tearing down the whole ceiling? ??

Advertisement

tbone4469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 958
Default

electrical


Some models of stud finders have that feature.

http://www.altex.com/Velleman-Live-W...2-P147552.aspx

Advertisement


Last edited by danpik; 10-11-2012 at 03:53 PM.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 02:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,918
Rewards Points: 1,350
Default

electrical


What is your objective? I will probably not be back here for several days, but that's okay, because there are a lot more knowledgeable people here anyway, and, given some more details, they may be able to lend some additional suggestions. A good starting point might be to determine which devices are on which circuits; with that information, you may be able to visualize possible paths. If you are attempting to isolate a problem, keep in mind that, if done properly, wire connections will only be made inside of receptacle boxes, lighting box, or other accessible junction boxes.
DexterII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 2,463
Rewards Points: 2,808
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by danpik View Post
Some models of stud finders have that feature.
A stud finder might indicate the presence of an electrical wire. Often they do not. It is surely not accurate enough to trace a specific wire
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 30,075
Rewards Points: 5,256
Default

electrical


Telling use what it is your really trying to do and why will come up with some better ansewers.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,250
Rewards Points: 2,602
Default

electrical


You can buy a tone generating circuit tracer kit (toner for short). You clip one part on a wire end or screw terminal (power turned off please) and maneuver the other part about wall and ceiling surfaces to find the route of the wire.

Advertisement

__________________
(One morning on WRKO Radio) The tub's not clean! Let's remodel the bathroom.
(One afternoon on WRKO Radio) It's time for an oil change. I'm going to trade in the car for next year's model.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper way to ground a subpanel chieftaing Electrical 25 04-03-2011 10:22 AM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 09:48 AM
Electrical Panel Upgrade & Main Water Shut Off DIYerIT Electrical 2 09-02-2010 02:42 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts