Electrical - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2012, 04:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

electrical


i am trying to replace a breaker panel in a rv park , the breaker in the panel is a 30 amp and its wired to a 30 amp rv receptacle, can i replace the 30 amp receptacle with a new 30 amp receptacle and run it off of a 50 amp breaker instead of useing a 30 amp breaker

Advertisement

jayg0328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 05:36 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by jayg0328
i am trying to replace a breaker panel in a rv park , the breaker in the panel is a 30 amp and its wired to a 30 amp rv receptacle, can i replace the 30 amp receptacle with a new 30 amp receptacle and run it off of a 50 amp breaker instead of useing a 30 amp breaker
No. 30a recept 30a breaker. Or replace conductors with 50a conductors.

Advertisement

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 06:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,306
Rewards Points: 758
Default

electrical


Short answer NO! Long answer certainly not! The receptacle is only rated for 30 amps, the 50 amp breaker would allow excessive power to reach it in this would be a hazard and certainly against code!
Msradell is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper way to ground a subpanel chieftaing Electrical 25 04-03-2011 11:22 AM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 07:46 AM
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 10:48 AM
Electrical Panel Upgrade & Main Water Shut Off DIYerIT Electrical 2 09-02-2010 03:42 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts