Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2012, 07:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electrical


Can someone please help me? I had one of the plugs in my outlet not working so i thought i would replace the outlet when i did it got arcked so i tried another new outlet and this is the outlet on my deck outside now none of the outlets will work in my kitchen

pkmoon7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 07:48 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,698
Rewards Points: 2,194
Default

electrical


Sounds like you tripped a GFI.

The kitchen receptacle should not have be feeding the outside receptacle.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 07:48 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

electrical


Check for a tripped gfci.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 07:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,437
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by pkmoon7 View Post
Can someone please help me? I had one of the plugs in my outlet not working so i thought i would replace the outlet when i did it got arcked so i tried another new outlet and this is the outlet on my deck outside now none of the outlets will work in my kitchen
when it sparked you triped the breaker or gfi..need to be reset
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:50 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by pkmoon7 View Post
Can someone please help me? I had one of the plugs in my outlet not working so i thought i would replace the outlet when i did it got arcked so i tried another new outlet and this is the outlet on my deck outside now none of the outlets will work in my kitchen
Did you do it live?
Do you even have a tester?
Was the tab in between the gold screws broken off?
Are you in Canada?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper way to ground a subpanel chieftaing Electrical 25 04-03-2011 10:22 AM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 09:48 AM
Electrical Panel Upgrade & Main Water Shut Off DIYerIT Electrical 2 09-02-2010 02:42 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.