Electrical - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2012, 07:36 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electrical


I have a drop down service with 200A cut-off box with 2 200A fuses. How do I hook this up to my 100A breaker box in my mobile home?

Advertisement

sherisser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 07:43 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,814
Rewards Points: 2,302
Default

Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by sherisser View Post
How do I hook this up to my 100A breaker box in my mobile home?
Carefully.

First step is to *extend* the power from that disconnect to the MH.
Aerial? OK Direct Burial? Sure Conduit with THWN? OK

What is most common where you are?

Quote:
Originally Posted by WireMaker
All of our THWN electrical wire is dual rated with THHN wire because they're manufactured very similar with almost no cost difference. It's the most standard type of electrical wire on the market because it's used as a single condutor electrical wire and also used in most electrical cables as well.

Advertisement


Last edited by TarheelTerp; 01-24-2012 at 08:45 PM. Reason: correction
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 08:18 PM   #3
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Carefully.

First step is to *extend* the power from that disconnect to the MH.
Aerial? OK Direct Burial? Sure Conduit with THHN? OK

What is most common where you are?
Only thing I'd argue with is the THHN. If it's buried, it has to be THWN.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:05 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
Only thing I'd argue with is the THHN. If it's buried, it has to be THWN.
While this is an often mentioned correction, it must be said that you'd be hard pressed to find new THHN wire that is not dual rated THWN.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-24-2012), jbfan (01-24-2012), SD515 (01-24-2012)
Old 01-24-2012, 09:07 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by sherisser View Post
I have a drop down service with 200A cut-off box with 2 200A fuses. How do I hook this up to my 100A breaker box in my mobile home?
Yes, this is the electrical section and this is an electrical question.

Step one: Call an electrician.
Step two: Receive quote from said electrician.
Step three: Award job to electrician.
Step four: Enjoy your newly electrified mobile home.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-24-2012), jbfan (01-24-2012), SD515 (01-24-2012)
Old 01-24-2012, 09:48 PM   #6
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
While this is an often mentioned correction, it must be said that you'd be hard pressed to find new THHN wire that is not dual rated THWN.
Fair enough.

Just pointing it out...

Advertisement

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper way to ground a subpanel chieftaing Electrical 25 04-03-2011 11:22 AM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 07:46 AM
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 10:48 AM
Electrical Panel Upgrade & Main Water Shut Off DIYerIT Electrical 2 09-02-2010 03:42 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts