Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2011, 01:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Electrical


I just wanted to know how to measure or get an earth resistance of an electrode, i know it should be 25ohms or less. Can i do it with a multi-meter or need a special instrument? If with a multi-meter, how to connect or place the probes?

Danny Mai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 10:47 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Mai View Post
I just wanted to know how to measure or get an earth resistance of an electrode, i know it should be 25ohms or less. Can i do it with a multi-meter or need a special instrument? If with a multi-meter, how to connect or place the probes?
Yes, you can use a multimeter but you will need a second point of contact. What are you trying to accomplish by making this measurement?

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 11:28 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Yes, you can use a multimeter but you will need a second point of contact. What are you trying to accomplish by making this measurement?
One thing it will come to my mind is that some peoples will try to get away with single grounding electrode but majorty of the time it will be much wiser to install second ground rod and be done with it.

And the other thing when someone do the earth testing or ground testing the soil condition will really affect the test ditto with weather pattern as well that will change a bit.

Few EC's will have specal equiment to do the ground testing to get under 25 ohms.{ this testing methold genrally are not cheap so you can see why it cheaper to just sink second ground rods and be done with it }

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 05:17 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Mai View Post
I just wanted to know how to measure or get an earth resistance of an electrode, i know it should be 25ohms or less. Can i do it with a multi-meter or need a special instrument? If with a multi-meter, how to connect or place the probes?
NO, this absolutely cannot be done with a common multi-meter. The specialized meter for this test is in the $1000 and up range.

I'll also ask, WHY would you need to make this test???
Unless you are looking to get some crazy low numbers to ground an antenna systems or something like that what you are looking for is pretty much useless.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 08:18 AM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Electrical


Frenchy and Speedy. Just so you know I'm not wacko. When I wired my house and before I connected my UFER GEC to the panel, I thought I'd see how good of connection and ground path I had back the the meter pedestal which is 80' from the panel. The POCO grounded the meter pedestal with an 8 foot rod. I measured about 60Ω from the GEC (before connecting it to the neutal bar) to the neutral bar. So, my path was the GEC to the UFER through the earth to the ground rod through the neutral back to the panel neutral bar.
Is the value precise? Maybe not but I did confirm that I had a complete path.

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 06-09-2011 at 08:52 AM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:04 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Electrical


I'm studying electrical through correspondence course, and what i see is that there are some electricians just write a figure on the installation form saying its below 25ohms, which i know it should be below 25. But i want to make sure it's below that figure and or if he should plant another ground rod or do something else to achieve it, that's why i want to know if i can take a measurement with a multi-meter.
Danny Mai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:10 AM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,845
Default

Electrical


Drive another rod at least 6' from the other one, connect them together and be done with it. With multiple rods it does not matter what the meaurement is. It will cost far more to obtain a measurement than it will to drive another rod.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
hpp58 (06-10-2011), SD515 (06-11-2011), Speedy Petey (06-10-2011)
Old 06-10-2011, 11:15 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

Electrical


thank you, but can i take reading of the 2 rods with a multimeter?
Danny Mai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:36 AM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,845
Default

Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Mai View Post
thank you, but can i take reading of the 2 rods with a multimeter?
No you can't. See post #4.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 03:45 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,810
Default

Electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Danny Mai View Post
I'm studying electrical through correspondence course, and what i see is that there are some electricians just write a figure on the installation form saying its below 25ohms, which i know it should be below 25.
Then you would also know that sinking a second rod eliminates the 25 ohm requirement all together.

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
hpp58 (06-10-2011), SD515 (06-11-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Electrical work in New Jersey electures Electrical 42 12-19-2012 03:19 PM
Old Bathroom - all electrical on one circuit? how to change? Steve19 Electrical 16 03-14-2011 09:32 AM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 11:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.