Electrical - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2011, 11:04 AM   #1
mgw
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electrical


do all recepts within 1m of any water system req. cgfi (tr) cert. as a plumber in a new house installed a rec. in a hydronics system on the opposing wall without such a recept. but i am facing an electrical inspec. soon (2 wks)

Advertisement

mgw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 04:53 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by mgw View Post
do all recepts within 1m of any water system req. cgfi (tr) cert. as a plumber in a new house installed a rec. in a hydronics system on the opposing wall without such a recept. but i am facing an electrical inspec. soon (2 wks)
How about telling us where you live??? I suspect Canada since you say 1m.

Advertisement

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 10:31 PM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 500
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerup26 View Post
All outlets within 3' need gfci pro. As well as any outlet on countertop space,outside,bathroom outlets.
i think you will find it to be 6' according to NEC 210.8
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2011, 11:13 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
How about telling us where you live??? I suspect Canada since you say 1m.
my guess as well.

It also sounds like this is simply a heating system which, in itself, in the US, would not cause a GFCI to be required. There are some specs that may or may not cause it to require a GFCI though (in the US. Don't know what the folks up north need but IF their code is similar, these answers would help them as well)

is this in a basement? In a habitable area? is it near a sink? if so, how close to the outer edge of the sink?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 01:23 AM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Powerup26 View Post
I know what it is, I was saying yes his 1m outlet to.the sink needs gfi pro
what sink?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 07:46 AM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 11:43 AM
How to install new electrical box without attic access gilmores33 Electrical 10 02-14-2010 08:46 PM
Slight electrical current in bathroom faucet water + other unusual electrical events story Electrical 9 09-16-2009 11:28 PM
Electrical box replace,addiitions, city permits and looking for an electrician ramchy Electrical 3 08-02-2009 12:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts