Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2009, 06:59 PM   #1
OCDiy'er
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

electric wiring in house remodel


As a long time reader, but not often poster I have some questions regarding installing new wiring in house remodel.
1) I realize that junction boxes have to be accessible & this is where I have a problem. In running some new wiring I would like to replace the old sections of wiring (old cloth covered type - 60 yrs old) that are uncovered. This means splicing in the middle of the run. However, it would also be an area that is going to covered with drywall in a finished room so an access opening is not possible. The total run cannot be replaced since the wire runs up into other areas that are not being redone. I really kind of hate to just cover up the old wiring again with out doing something to better it. Is there some way to accomplish this?
2) in new construction there are requirements for fastening/securing wiring to joists, studs, etc., but evidently in remodeling where new wire is fished through walls and ceilings this is not a problem - other than fastening at boxes?
3) lastly, had an licensed electrician tell me that when running new wiring in basement that runs of gray pvc electrical conduit can be used for runs perpendicular to joists instead of drilling new holes in joists. Where wires exit to run with joists can put in a "T" for wires to exit from. For example have 2" pvc conduit run along outside perimeter of basement and have 7 or 8 20A wires loose in them then have exit @ a "T" to go where they have to go. Anyone heard of this before? Is it allowed? He installed my new 200A box that was permitted & passed inspection.

Thanks,
Rob

wis_remod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 07:06 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Orleans,LA
Posts: 128
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electric wiring in house remodel


pvc would be a pia, then you would have to de-rate the circuits...i'd call an electrician for this project...no offense, it's a little over your head

NolaTigaBait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 07:16 PM   #3
OCDiy'er
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electric wiring in house remodel


nolatigabait,

i assume you were replying to #3

no offense taken. not planning on doing it. thanx
wis_remod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 09:04 PM   #4
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electric wiring in house remodel


One way you can deal with existing boxes that need to be accessible is to simply extend them to the depth of the drywall and use a blank cover. If they are too far away from the drywall, such as a soffit condition; simply install an access panel or a false air duct grille over the box.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 01:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,590
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electric wiring in house remodel


There's probably not much benefit in only replacing part of a run. Your still leaving in a section of old wire and your adding a break in the wire that could become loose. If the old wire's bad then you don't want to leave in a section of it. If it's not bad then why replace part of it and add a break?

So my vote is replace the whole thing or leave it as is.
jogr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 02:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electric wiring in house remodel


Quote:
Originally Posted by wis_remod View Post
1) The total run cannot be replaced since the wire runs up into other areas that are not being redone. I really kind of hate to just cover up the old wiring again with out doing something to better it. Is there some way to accomplish this?

2) in new construction there are requirements for fastening/securing wiring to joists, studs, etc., but evidently in remodeling where new wire is fished through walls and ceilings this is not a problem - other than fastening at boxes?

3) lastly, had an licensed electrician tell me that when running new wiring in basement that runs of gray pvc electrical conduit can be used for runs perpendicular to joists instead of drilling new holes in joists. Where wires exit to run with joists can put in a "T" for wires to exit from. For example have 2" pvc conduit run along outside perimeter of basement and have 7 or 8 20A wires loose in them then have exit @ a "T" to go where they have to go. Anyone heard of this before? Is it allowed? He installed my new 200A box that was permitted & passed inspection.

Thanks,
Rob
#1 Run all new wire or leave it alone. Adding a junction box & new set of connections & leaving some old wire does not gain you anything IMO. In my house I have only replaced the old cloth wiring when I can
a) replace the entire run
b) leave an exposed junction box in the basement (once only)

#2 Fishing wires thru existing walls you are not required to fasten the wire in the hidden space

#3 Most of my runs are along the joists. In some places I have drilled holes to go thru a few joists. If you are finishing the basement & adding a ceiling conduit & individual wires may be a good option. I would not put NMB wire in conduit except as a short sleeve (less then 24")

I would not do the 2" conduit myself
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 02:40 PM   #7
OCDiy'er
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electric wiring in house remodel


As far as my question #3 I believe I misunderstood my electrician. He was talking about a system like the one offered by "Speedway Electric Products".

They do have a basic website:
www.speedwayelectricalproducts.com

Thanks

wis_remod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 09:04 AM
New House Structured Wiring Setup for CATV gregsenne Electrical 13 02-19-2009 08:00 PM
Bathroom Fan/Heater unit incompatible with electric wiring? bathroom nightmare Electrical 4 02-09-2008 03:41 PM
Wiring electric heater in bathroom PatSea Electrical 5 01-06-2007 09:40 PM
Electric Range Wiring manhattan42 Electrical 11 07-05-2006 05:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.