Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-06-2011, 10:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Electric Wall heaters


I am working on installing 2 new electric wall heaters, one in a 4 season porch, and another in a basement bedroom directly below the porch. The bedroom is small and is getting a 750watt heater, while the 4 season porch is getting a 1200 watt heater. I plan on running just one 220 circuit for both of them with a 12 gauge wire and a 15 amp circuit (total calculated current draw is a little over 8 amps). I have a wire path figured out and can connect both pretty easily but it will mean having 3 12/2's in a box with a thermostat. The thermostat says it requires a minimum of 21 cu. in (sorry I don't have the details on the thermostat) though I can't seem to find an old work box bigger than 20 cu. in, looking to see what the opinion is of the people here. Is 20 cu. in that much too small for 2 12/2's and the t-stat (upstairs location); I will probably end up cutting open the wall bigger in the basement bedroom and putting in a 4" square box and mud ring for the 3 12/2's and the t-stat just to have enough space. Would like to minimize the holes upstairs to only what's needed, basement isn't so much a concern as there will be a couple other holes to run the wire anyway.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:47 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric Wall heaters


I don't like to connect multiple wires at switches, thermostats, GFCI's, etc. These take up too much space in the box...

Rather I only run the wires needed to these, then make the splices elsewhere. Like a junction box in the attic or crawlspace. Or at light fixture (plenty of room there!).

Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 11:57 AM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electric Wall heaters


You could use a surface mount with full off/positive break.

http://www.acehardwareoutlet.com/Pro...?SKU=998020676
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 01:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Electric Wall heaters


Unfortunately the thermostats have already been purchased and were bought through a friend who gets a great discount on the heaters and thermostats. But thinking about the surface mount idea, I might look into a single gang wiremold box extender, those will add about an extra inch and will certainly add up to more than the 21 cu. in required by the thermostat.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 07:26 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Electric Wall heaters


Your first post seems to indicate you are using one thermostat but then you say the thermostats have been purchased. Will both rooms have a t-stat?
Why are you running #12 wire? #14 is good for 12 amps continuous and you are only looking at 8+ and you said you will use 15 amp breakers.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 12:15 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Electric Wall heaters


Yes, each room will have its own independent t-stat. They were out of 14/2 when I bought the wire, thought I was going to have time to start running it this weekend but didn't have time. I might see if I can find some 14/2 instead before I start running it, since now I'm going to have a few days before I will have time to work on it.

My concern is of the box size and what the t-stat says it needs and with the number of wires in each box. The plan is the feed will enter the t-stat box in the bedroom downstairs, feed the heater in the bedroom and also run upstairs to that t-stat and ultimately up to the heater.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Fireplace built into the wall J187 Project Showcase 4 03-24-2011 03:00 PM
Removing Motherboard from built-in electric wall oven Lisa Delmore Appliances 2 02-03-2011 10:01 PM
Retaining Wall and Muddy Yard rjschwar Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 02-24-2010 12:55 PM
how to determine if wall is load bearing Tonglebeak Building & Construction 26 01-20-2010 11:26 PM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.