Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-30-2013, 07:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,133
Blog Entries: 5
Share |
Default

electric switches affect TV


I only have indoor antennas for my TV's.

When the ceiling fan is turned on or off, there's just the slightest interruption in the TV. Or in the bedroom with a lamp on the same outlet as that TV when the lamp is turned on or off the same barely noticeable hesitation in the TV. Is this normal?

Now, I wonder if it's my antennas or the new TV, a couple of times a day it powers down and right back up within seconds.

It doesn't bother me but evidently visitors seem to want an explanation other than me shrugging my shoulders.

Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 08:13 AM   #2
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

electric switches affect TV


Probably normal. I have seen many different setups as you describe, and turning something on does briefly interrupt the signal. Especially with indoor antennas.


Last edited by Kyle_in_rure; 12-30-2013 at 08:51 AM.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 01:39 PM   #3
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

electric switches affect TV


When visitors ask for an explanation tell them it's to remind them that they are paying for cable while you are watching for free with an antenna
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 02:26 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 14
Default

electric switches affect TV


It's probably that those devices are generating RF interference when opening or closing the circuit (usually by a small spark, which is just pure noise on the airwaves). It's safe and normal, and with digital TV over the air it will just black out or get blocky when it gets a bad signal instead of the "snow" we used to get on the screen from analog TV... At least that's my understanding
zolakk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zolakk For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 02:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,133
Blog Entries: 5
Default

electric switches affect TV


Thanks.

I spent about $8,000 in the 10 yrs I lived in Ohio, on cable and barely watched it. A little interference is a small price to pay.
Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 02:53 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,329
Default

electric switches affect TV


Quote:
Originally Posted by Startingover View Post
Now, I wonder if it's my antennas or the new TV, a couple of times a day it powers down and right back up within seconds.
Is the TV really shutting off then turning back on?
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to djlandkpl For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 03:00 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,714
Default

electric switches affect TV


What manufacturer of surge protector are you using around the home, and do they offer any EMI/RFI protection. What you are getting, is typical, when you have induced RFI line noise.

Any decent Whole panel, stand alone Surge protector, or even something like the Leviton Surge Protector outlet, will cut down on the EMI/RFI induced noise. Now of course, you do need to make sure that the panel & meter pan are properly grounded to Earth ground, to allow these devices to work as they should.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 03:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,133
Blog Entries: 5
Default

electric switches affect TV


Dan,
the TV is a brand new Samsung. The screen will go black then immediately I heard the "do-do-do" as it powers up and comes back on in about 3 seconds. This didn't happen with my old bubblebutt TV I just got rid of.

greg,
the house passed inspection, but I now remember something about a grounding wire. Let me go look at the inspection report.

On surge protectors.........I don't use them. Didn't know I should. When I worked in an office I had them, but not at home.

PS. Greg, this is what the Home inspector said and his photo.

""(2) The grounding and neutral conductors are bonded on the same bar inside the distribution panel box. These conductors should be bonded in the main panel only using a four wire system. A licensed electrical contractor should correct as needed.""


Name:  elec.jpg
Views: 69
Size:  13.1 KB

Last edited by Startingover; 12-30-2013 at 04:04 PM.
Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2013, 05:24 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,714
Default

electric switches affect TV


As long as that panel is the main panel, and the Neutral & ground are not bonded at the meter, disregard what the Home Inspector stated. Now if the Neutral & Ground are bonded together at the Meter pan, and there is a disconnect there, then yes you treat that panel as if it was a sub-panel.

That means that Neutral & Ground wires should be on their own respected bus bars, with no tying between the two systems.

As for no Surge protector at your office, it could be that they had a system in place to protect the whole distribution system inside the building, so that you did not need individual surge strips.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 05:39 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,329
Default

electric switches affect TV


Does the TV restart only when you turn on/off the ceiling fan or are there other situations that cause the TV to restart? It's not normal and will probably shorten the life of your TV.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to djlandkpl For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 06:16 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,133
Blog Entries: 5
Default

electric switches affect TV


Greg, I don't understand anything about electric, but thank you and I feel better now that I don't have to worry about the panel.

Dan,
Nothing else is going on when the TV shuts down then comes right back on. Last night watching a DVD, the DVD didn't go off, just the TV, but like I said it comes back immediately. I got a good sale at Best Buy on Black Friday, so will call them tomorrow. Since this didn't happen with my old TV I think it's the TV.
Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Startingover For This Useful Post:
djlandkpl (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 06:58 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,316
Default

electric switches affect TV


Have you checked the connections at the switch?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Startingover (12-30-2013)
Old 12-30-2013, 07:37 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: central Florida
Posts: 1,133
Blog Entries: 5
Default

electric switches affect TV


jim, thanks and yes the connection is tight.

Curious what the store will say but not expecting much.

Startingover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mercury light switches av-geek Electrical 11 07-31-2012 08:38 PM
Splitting receptacle, control with two switches. renrut69 Electrical 9 07-30-2012 03:37 PM
Upgrades for my old electric furnace? alochin HVAC 6 09-11-2011 06:09 PM
Help me ID these switches... jp2code Electrical 10 12-11-2009 02:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.