Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2006, 12:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric Stove Help


I was given a electric stove i live in a mobile home.When i took out the gas range i found the wire for electric stove but not hooked up it is 8/2 wire.I bought new box for three prong plug like that is on the stove my ? is dose the bare ground go to the bottom of the plug box and to the ground side in the panel box or netural side.I know i should change it over to 4 wire but there is no room under the trailer for me to pull the wire through.Thanks

tempmeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 02:45 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric Stove Help


It is no longer legal to hook up a three prong stove to a panel.

Back when it was legal the two hots went to the right and left on the outlet and the bare wire went to the middle bottom prongs.

In the panel the two hots went on to the two screws from a two pole breaker and the bare wire went to the neutral buss.

For a number 8 wire the breaker size would be 40 amp.

jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2006, 03:39 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Electric Stove Help


It was NEVER legal for a range to be fed by a three prong receptacle in a mobile home.

Find a way to run a new cable.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 01:47 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric Stove Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
It was NEVER legal for a range to be fed by a three prong receptacle in a mobile home.

Find a way to run a new cable.
What did the mobile homes do before the stoves ever came with four prong cords?
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2006, 04:13 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Electric Stove Help


Stoves and ranges do NOT come with 3 or 4 prong cords. You have to put them on.

I don't know the timeline of this code. It has just always been that way as long as I have read the code.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 06:45 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Electric Stove Help


Back in 79 when I lived in a mobile home, I had 4 wire for the stove.
I also had 4 wire feeding the home.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 10:45 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

Electric Stove Help


Yup, that's before my time.
I was in Jr. High in '79. :p
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 07:18 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Electric Stove Help


Young"n!!!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire stove connection bgoldie Electrical 13 03-01-2011 12:29 PM
Wiring stove outlet in old house electric-pete Electrical 23 07-06-2008 03:02 PM
Convert from electric heat to oil/propane? Badfish740 HVAC 7 05-15-2007 11:17 AM
Coal Stove Hood Devil505 HVAC 1 12-06-2006 05:32 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.