Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-16-2004, 10:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric Range(stove) wiring


Anyone ever moved the outlet for their stove?? If so how difficult was it?? I need to move it roughly10 feet...Thanks

Kevin

Mulligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 08:55 PM   #2
Guest
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Electric Range(stove) wiring


All it takes is wire, holes and enough sense to turn the power off. Were it I, I would surface mount it on the floor behind the range. If you are going farther away........ re-pull the wire, don't splice it. Use a 4-conductor cable. Two hots, one neutral, one ground. You will need a 4-wire receptacle and a 4-wire cord. Remove the bonding strap from the range when using a
4-wire cable.

  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 12:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

Electric Range(stove) wiring


I was wondering why you recommended not to splice wires (6 W.G.) for an electric range. I am installing a line and found that I am short line (due to placement changes), and was considering splicing in a junction box.
MoneyPit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 06:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clifton, New Jersey
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Electric Range(stove) wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by MoneyPit
I was wondering why you recommended not to splice wires (6 W.G.) for an electric range. I am installing a line and found that I am short line (due to placement changes), and was considering splicing in a junction box.

It's always better to run a direct line without splicing then it is to splice wire. But, if you're moving it 10 feet further then it was you'll have no choice. Just add a junction box and cover with the right wire nuts. Just make sure the wires are snug in the wire nuts. You'll be alright with your range. Then move what you have already existing. Just match what you have already and extend it to where you want to go.
Hammertime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 09:46 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 160
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Electric Range(stove) wiring


I moved an electric dryer from one side of the basement to the other a couple of years ago just the way Hammer suggested. It seems to have worked fine.

The only thing I did different was used some stuff called 'Ox-Gard' on the wire ends. I don't remember at who's suggestion I used it (I might have read it somewhere) but I got it at the HD electrical dept - came in a little red/white toothpaste type tube. It's spos'a help big wires make a better connection with each other.
pipeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric door strike wiring help z32 Electrical 3 03-22-2010 12:17 PM
Wiring electric heater in bathroom PatSea Electrical 5 01-06-2007 09:40 PM
Electric Range Wiring manhattan42 Electrical 11 07-05-2006 05:03 PM
Wiring from electric motor subman Electrical 1 06-24-2005 10:37 PM
Wiring from electric motor Submarineman Electrical 1 06-17-2005 12:50 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.