Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2011, 02:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Electric range in dryer outlet


I just got a new electric range and the installers said they couldn't plug it in because the outlet is for a dryer. Both the outlet and plug are four prong but the outlet has a " L " shaped prong at the bottom. The installers left the old cord ( also 4 prong) off the old stove. Should I use the old cord on the new stove since it goes in the outlet or should I try to get the outlet changed? If I need to change the outlet does that mean re-wiring?

Greenlevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 02:22 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,730
Default

Electric range in dryer outlet


The receptacle needs to be changed.
You need to get a 4 wire stove receptacle.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Greenlevel (02-03-2011)
Old 02-03-2011, 02:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 21
Default

Electric range in dryer outlet


Yep - replace the receptacle with the proper one...don't use the old cord. I actually ran into the reverse of what you have just recently. Purchased a new electric clothes dryer, and the installers informed me the receptacle the old one had been connected to was for a stove. About $10 for a new receptacle at the Big Box store and 10 minutes of work though and I was back in business. If you decided to change out the receptacle yourself, make sure you turn the breaker off first!!
H8Mondays is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to H8Mondays For This Useful Post:
Greenlevel (02-03-2011)
Old 02-03-2011, 02:56 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Electric range in dryer outlet


Thank you both. So, since I know nothing about electricity let me make sure I have it right. I need to change the wall outlet, right? There is no need to re-wire anything to / from the breaker box. Do I need to check the fuse in the breaker for anything. I plan to ask my cousin to do this, but I need to know what to ask and what is the right thing to do.
Greenlevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 03:23 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 21
Default

Electric range in dryer outlet


Yes, the wall outlet needs to be changed. However, both the circuit breaker and wire size really depends on the nameplate rating of your new range. Check either in the manual or on the range itself for this rating and then compare it to what you currently have. If they match, you shouldn't have to make any changes here. If they don't however, then you may be looking at upgrading both of those components along with the wall outlet.

I believe standard ranges require a 40A double-pole breaker along with 8-3/w ground wire, but there could be some variation, so double-check what your new unit actually calls for.

H8Mondays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 05:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 66
Default

Electric range in dryer outlet


Don't set the oven any higher than 250 to dry clothes.

Hourglass52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 05:13 PM
Electric dryer fire prevention Know It ALL Safety 2 12-08-2010 08:53 AM
soggy outlet pipe for dryer? darsunt Appliances 5 08-04-2010 12:28 PM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 10:45 PM
Clothes Dryer / Outlet homercavazos Electrical 8 10-30-2007 04:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.