Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-23-2010, 08:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29
Share |
Question

Electric panel enclosure question


Hi,
I am finishing the basement. The basement contains an existing electric panel (which I am not modifying). I have built framing around it and roughed-in the wires. It passed rough-in inspection.

Now I need to build an enclosure around the panel. Technically this is not a problem since i'll build it extending the frame out about 1 to 2 inches (to account for the protrusion of the panel out or the frame). However, I don't know how close to the breaker handles themselves am I allowed to install the door? I asked the inspector and the jack a** did not answer. It looked at me as if this distance would be totally irrelevant.

Can I install the door barely touching the plastic handles? 1/4 inch? 1/2 inch? Since the door is going to be made out of wood, this could represent a fire hazard if anything happens. Wouldn't this distance be coded? Is there a minimum clearance?

Oh, btw, I live in Ontario, Canada. However, any answer / guidance would be *exceedingly* welcomed!

globus999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 08:19 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Electric panel enclosure question


Quote:
Originally Posted by globus999 View Post
The basement contains an existing electric panel (which I am not modifying).
It sounds to like you are making a new panel cover. Is this correct?

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 08:27 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Electric panel enclosure question


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
It sounds to like you are making a new panel cover. Is this correct?
Yes, this is correct.The existing panel has no cover.
globus999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 08:37 PM   #4
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Electric panel enclosure question


You will have to wait until one of the Canadian electricians jumps in..
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 08:47 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Electric panel enclosure question


I just want to make sure I am reading this correct that you need a cover to hide the whole thing like useing a cabent door to cover them up even picture frame to cover it up or.,

Metal cover which the oringal cover is missing ?

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 09:19 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29
Default

Electric panel enclosure question


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
I just want to make sure I am reading this correct that you need a cover to hide the whole thing like useing a cabent door to cover them up even picture frame to cover it up or.,

Metal cover which the oringal cover is missing ?

Merci.
Marc
Hi, yes and no. I am building something like a cabinet door to cover the entire panel up. However, the original panel is the type that does not have a door. It's just a flat panel with the plastic handles of the breakers protruding out.
globus999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 09:30 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Electric panel enclosure question


Quote:
Originally Posted by globus999 View Post
Hi, yes and no. I am building something like a cabinet door to cover the entire panel up. However, the original panel is the type that does not have a door. It's just a flat panel with the plastic handles of the breakers protruding out.
Ok.,

Now I can see where this goes anyway I know in USA generally not a issue as long you don't block the front of the load centre but Canada I think it should be simauir but just wait for Joed or other to chime in to confirm this question.

Merci.
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
panel clearance question MeanGene Electrical 1 09-14-2010 03:38 PM
100 AMP Panel Box Question SeniorCitizen Electrical 10 07-27-2010 03:08 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 08:43 PM
Garage Wiring issues jimmyfloyd Electrical 20 06-08-2009 02:57 PM
Next Question, Sub panel in detached garage... OmegaBunny Electrical 5 09-15-2008 11:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.