Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2013, 10:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric Oven power requirement


Doing another rehab and noticed the electric wall oven may have a problem. According to the specs it requires at max 27amps so I assume a 30 amp circuit would be OK. I found it is fed with a 40amp circuit on #8 wire. Is it OK to have a circuit that is at least 10 amps larger feed this oven? My concern is if for some reason something went wrong in the oven would the breaker trip before the oven is damaged or something in the oven starts smoking, other than my cooking?

Whaler Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:49 AM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,118
Rewards Points: 2,146
Default

Electric Oven power requirement


Fine the way it is. The breaker is sized to the wiring. Change to a 30 amp breaker if you feel better.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 11:56 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Electric Oven power requirement


The installation instructions for ranges will specify the circuit/breaker recommended depending on the model. You may be able to find that document on the manufacturer's web site. Or call and ask the manufacturer what is recommended for that specific model.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power is dimmed, but not because of the electric company. austinomega Electrical 28 12-28-2012 07:33 PM
Can just adding new electric wiring for new outlets increase power usage? elocs Electrical 35 09-22-2011 04:37 PM
double electric oven cherylynn91406 Appliances 0 08-01-2010 04:31 PM
How to power a 120/240 volt 3 phase oven in a building with 120/240 volt single phase wantsomegetsome Electrical 9 05-04-2009 10:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.