Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2012, 03:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Electric meter


Hi, I want to install an electric meter (yes, like the one the main service uses) inside my home for a specific room, but it is only 120v.

Is it possible to get a standard 240v meter base + a meter, and only use one side of the meter/meter base?

Etisfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 04:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric meter


Yes I don't think it's an issue shop around see what you can find

__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:19 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Electric meter


How were you planning on rewiring to connect the one room to this meter?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:37 PM   #4
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric meter


Get am emon dmon. Might cost you though
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:46 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,426
Rewards Points: 192
Default

Electric meter


My main question would be why?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 06:52 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Electric meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dierte View Post
Get am emon dmon. Might cost you though
This is the answer because good luck finding a POCO style meter.

I'll also ask, WHY in the world would you need to meter one room?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 07:58 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,869
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Electric meter


He's got to know his overhead for the grow room. How else can he know if he's turninng a profit.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:01 PM   #8
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric
He's got to know his overhead for the grow room. How else can he know if he's turninng a profit.
Well at least hes looking at his costs and not just charging what the other dealers are because that is the "going rate"
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:04 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric meter


Not that hard to find....always available on Ebay

CENTRON Electric 240v WATTHOUR House METER & NEW 100amp SOCKET + Adaptors | eB
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:20 PM   #10
Member
 
Msradell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Louisville Kentucky
Posts: 1,174
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Electric meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Unfortunately the description directly states it will not work for 110v (should be 120). The only option would be to feed a sub panel with 240 and then pull the 120v off of that.
Msradell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 08:42 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
This is the answer because good luck finding a POCO style meter....
A quick search on ebaY found this one:
Attached Thumbnails
Electric meter-120v-meter.jpg  
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2012, 09:25 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,593
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Electric meter


Are you trying to monitor one device or the circuit?

There are monitors like the TED 5000 or the Kill-a-watt plug in devices.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 03:41 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
I am actually looking for this. Will it work with just 120v?
Etisfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 06:18 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric meter


Ummm ... NO .... from the listing:

Quote:
THESE METERS CANNOT BE USED FOR 120V APPLICATIONS, SEE OUR OTHER AUCTIONS FOR 120V METERS
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2012, 07:01 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Electric meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Ummm ... NO .... from the listing:
I didn't say that specific meter, I'm asking for one that WILL work with 120v.

Etisfo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drop Wire (From Weatherhead to Meter) roadman1977 Electrical 7 12-24-2011 11:35 AM
200 Amp or 400 Amp service Boontucky Electrical 37 07-24-2011 12:33 PM
Is My Electric Meter Correct: Conclusion. fcfcfc Electrical 0 10-03-2010 06:00 PM
Electric meter garyoutwest Electrical 1 10-02-2009 04:10 AM
Water meter aggravations KE2KB Plumbing 8 03-21-2009 06:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.