Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2009, 08:36 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Share |
Default

Electric fireplace


Typicaly, what is the best way to wire one of these "permanently"? Mine has a plug that looks like a lamp cord or a radio cord (standard low guage wire for a small item) and I'm thinking of drilling a hole to the crawlspace then cutting the end off and wiring it through a junction box then run some 14/2 from another circuit to that box. I'd probably add a cut off switch too, in fact I can just use a rectangle box as the jbox and put the switch in there.

Would this be ok? Or should I rid of the cheap wire and remove the fireplace then wire it directly? I'm not sure how the fireplace comes out, I'm afraid it may be bolted down in cement and all, so it would be a big task to remove it. if the fireplace comes with this cord then I'm guessing it is safe and tested. Though if there's a fault wonder if that wire would burn before the breaker trips.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 11:20 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Electric fireplace


Does this so-called "fireplace" have any heating elements? Or does it simply have lighted "guts" to look like there is a fire in there?

Is it free-standing, or built-in to the wall?

Do you have the manufacturer's instructions available?

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 10:43 PM   #3
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Electric fireplace


It has a small heater on top. It gives out a fair amount of heat, but probably less then a big heater you'd buy with a heavy duty 3 prong cord.

also the run with the cord wont be long. Basically I"ll have a square box beside the fireplace, but in the basement, the cord will run from the fireplace into a hole in the floor then to the jbox. I'll probably tape the cord where it goes through the hole just for extra protection, then I'll caulk it (so bugs don't go up through the hole).

It looks like the fireplace is built in, but there used to be a real fireplace there, so really not sure how it was installed. Maybe it does just pull out. If it pulls out then it will be easy to run romex wire directly to it.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 02:46 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Default

Electric fireplace


Red Squirrel

Hello; warning, don't cut off the end of the power cord that is part of the
fireplace, you will void the UL listing. And that is something you never
want to do. Under stood.

I have alway installed a power receptacle adjacent to where the fireplace
will be located. I suggest you do the same.

Now if you don't want to see the power cord, place something in front of
it, that will hide it from view.

Post back if you need additional information on your project.

Last edited by user62257; 09-12-2009 at 02:47 PM. Reason: spelling error
user62257 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 10:36 AM   #5
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Electric fireplace


If I manage to pull it out, will running new wire directly to it be ok? I already have a receptacle nearby but it is still an eye sore to see the cord then an extension to it.

If not I might just live with the way it is now.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 11:05 AM   #6
DIY = Done Right 1st Time
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central, NY
Posts: 74
Default

Electric fireplace


Why not just install a new outlet directly behind the fireplace. Problem solved.
BowDown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 12:36 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 28
Default

Electric fireplace


can you post a picture or two.

Show the cord set.

Show the outlet the cord set will plug into.

Make sure if can get a picture where the other end of the cord set
is connected to the electrical part of the fireplace..

You may be able to drop the cord set direct below into the basement.
user62257 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 02:58 PM   #8
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

Electric fireplace


It's all cement so I want to avoid having to drill through there.

This is the fireplace:



This is under the fireplace:

http://gal.redsquirrel.me/images/hou...9/dsc01695.JPG

Where the white pipe is going to the hole, you'll notice an incline of cement, that is the fireplace. What I want to do is drill into the floor right beside that and run the wire there. This used to be a real fireplace so it's cement everywhere.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 03:30 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Electric fireplace


Do you know the wattage of the heater?
Most of these have 16 gauge wiring, so 14g would be heavier & better
Myself I'd only replace the cord if I could drill inside the fireplace & eliminate it from site entirely

If you drill to the right of the stone you could put an outlet in the basement & either disconnect & reconnect the cords or install a new cord

If that is an extension cord in use to connect it then you are far better off adding an outlet in the basement
Most of these are around 1500w & you aren't really supposed to use an extension cord (but many people do)
The extension cord can overheat, the normal cord can usually get hot
If you do disconnect the cord & the heater is a 1500w model I'd get a 14g cord to replace it

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New project: removal of old fireplace-replace with a new fireplace! MrShadetree0222 Building & Construction 14 10-16-2008 06:12 PM
Ventless gas fireplace vs. Home furance Dougit General DIY Discussions 6 01-05-2008 04:01 PM
Possible to build direct-vent fireplace? DIYerself General DIY Discussions 3 12-22-2007 10:07 PM
Adding a gas fireplace BionicWoman Remodeling 7 11-08-2007 12:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.