Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2011, 07:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


my friend had a dryer receptacle installed some time ago. he calls me to help him install a new panel. after the new panel install the dryer wouldn't work. I opened the receptacle box and realized that the previous genius didn't connect the neutral wire. instead he had the bare ground connected in it's place. and must have had the bare ground connected to the neutral bar in the panel for the dryer to work. when i reconnected the dryer wires in the panel correctly the dryer then had no return so therefore wouldn't work. I rewired the receptacle correctly. with neutral in the correct place and ground the box. without a dryer to test i assume doing so would allow the dryer to work? please advise.

mdaigs34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 07:41 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wilmington, DE
Posts: 3,118
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


Older 3 wire receptacles did not use the neutral. Current code requires a 4 wire receptacle, which includes the neutral. Wire it for 4 wire(X= hot 1, Y=hot 2, N=neutral, green is ground), and replace the plug on the dryer at installation if it is a 3 wire.

Just Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 08:23 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Bill View Post
Older 3 wire receptacles did not use the neutral. Current code requires a 4 wire receptacle, which includes the neutral. Wire it for 4 wire(X= hot 1, Y=hot 2, N=neutral, green is ground), and replace the plug on the dryer at installation if it is a 3 wire.
Actually Bill, 120/240v dryers always required an insulated neutral (or the use of SEU cable). It was the ground that was allowed to be omitted and the case of the appliance bonded to the neutral conductor.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 08:28 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


just so I'm clear speedy, the way i connected the receptacle will work?
mdaigs34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 08:35 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,130
Rewards Points: 3,054
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


I am more concerned about your panel. If the dryer plug was a three wire plug and it worked before it should have worked with the new panel.
The neutral and ground should be connected in the main panel. It should not have mattered that he had the ground wire in the neutral bus. If your new panel was installed correctly the dryer should have worked even with the ground wire only connected if it worked before.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:41 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


I am at a loss then. In the panel The hots are connected to a 30A double pole circuit breaker. neutral to the neutral bar and ground to the ground bar. At thr receptacle the hots are connected to the outermost connectors, neutral to the middle and ground to the box. All seems to be wired correctly now. all the other circuits work properly.

I don't see how the panel could have been installed improperly. Is there anything I can check to see if the dryer will work? the new dryer is to be delivered friday and we would like this issue to be resolved by then if at all possible.
mdaigs34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 11:35 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,130
Rewards Points: 3,054
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


I don't dispute that it was wrong. I'm just saying if it worked before it should have worked after. Are you sure it worked before?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 11:47 AM   #8
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 771
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdaigs34 View Post
I am at a loss then. In the panel The hots are connected to a 30A double pole circuit breaker. neutral to the neutral bar and ground to the ground bar. At thr receptacle the hots are connected to the outermost connectors, neutral to the middle and ground to the box. All seems to be wired correctly now. all the other circuits work properly.

I don't see how the panel could have been installed improperly. Is there anything I can check to see if the dryer will work? the new dryer is to be delivered friday and we would like this issue to be resolved by then if at all possible.
The easiest test would be to just check voltages at the dryer receptacle. 240v hot-to-hot, 120v hot-to-neutral, 120v hot-to-ground.

Stab in the dark: Did you maybe forget to install the bonding screw or jumper in the new panel? Maybe double-check that you have continuity between ground and neutral at the panel.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to McSteve For This Useful Post:
mdaigs34 (12-14-2011)
Old 12-14-2011, 11:47 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


yes it worked before. I wonder if the new panel should have the ground and neutral bar bonded. i'm getting like .2v from ground to neutral. is there a way for me to test the circuit and see if the dryer will work. other than plugging in the dryer? i have no dryer at this time.

thanks
mdaigs34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 11:50 AM   #10
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 771
Rewards Points: 510
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


Yes, if this is the house's main service panel, neutral and ground must be bonded in the panel.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 07:00 PM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,130
Rewards Points: 3,054
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Electric dryer receptacle?


That would explain why it didn't work(no neutral/ground bond). If the neutral and ground are not bonded then the ground will not function as return conductor. This is what I suspected as the issue when I said the panel was installed wrong. Even if this is a sub panel there should be a neutral/ground bond back at the main panel.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Dryer Question 3 to 4 wire John3rd Electrical 8 10-24-2011 06:54 PM
4-Pin Electric Receptacle - What is it? mgill30 Electrical 4 09-18-2011 11:42 AM
Electric dryer fire prevention Know It ALL Safety 2 12-08-2010 09:53 AM
Frigidaire electric dryer neight Electrical 2 10-31-2010 11:18 AM
4-prong dryer receptacle algraz Electrical 2 08-10-2009 04:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.