Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2008, 02:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

electric dryer - Chord and Outlet question?


I need to know if I can use an electric oven cord for my dryer or do I need to replace the outlet on the wall?

WILLIAM RIDGE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 12:14 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,683
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

electric dryer - Chord and Outlet question?


Ayuh,...

Those plugs,+ outlets change with the different amperages required for the appliances that are plugged into them..

You need to Match the Appliance, not the Outlet...
In other words, the Outlet must be able to accept the appliance's Plug...
You'll also have to be Sure the line carrying the power is up to the task...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2008, 09:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada (s/w ON.)
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

electric dryer - Chord and Outlet question?


Do you wish to plug the dryer into a stove outlet?

Stove outlets are fed by #8 wire that is protected by a 40 amp breaker.
Dryer outlets are fed by #10 wire and a 30 amp breaker.
If you changed the dryer cable over to a stove cable, electrically it would work, but this is not a good idea!
Wildie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.