Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2012, 06:23 PM   #1
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Share |
Default

Electric Dryer


I have an aunt that just bought a house.
She had a friend of the family come in to upgrade the service to 100 amp.she also wants a line in her garage run to feed an electric dryer,this friend is telling her that he will do it using 12/2 wire and hard wire it,not use a plug.
Anyone see a problem with this?
Thanks,

sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:26 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,258
Default

Electric Dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
I have an aunt that just bought a house.
She had a friend of the family come in to upgrade the service to 100 amp.she also wants a line in her garage run to feed an electric dryer,this friend is telling her that he will do it using 12/2 wire and hard wire it,not use a plug.
Anyone see a problem with this?
Thanks,
lol... just a few....

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (09-11-2012)
Old 09-11-2012, 06:27 PM   #3
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Default

Electric Dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

lol... just a few....
Care to elaborate?
I've run wire for my dryer but I used 10/3 with a 3 prong plug.
This guy does it for a living so I thought there was another way that I'm not aware of.

Last edited by sublime2; 09-11-2012 at 06:33 PM.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:32 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,258
Default

Electric Dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Care to elaborate?
A dryer requires 10-3 wire, and a disconnect, so we use a plug and receptacle to meet that criteria. Also, i would be scared of this friend doing any electrical work if he was going to wire a dryer like you proposed.


Is the garage attached to the house?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
rjniles (09-11-2012)
Old 09-11-2012, 06:35 PM   #5
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Default

Electric Dryer


Yes it is attached,and the box is in the garage also.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:38 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,258
Default

Electric Dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Care to elaborate?
I've run wire for my dryer but I used 10/3 with a 3 prong plug.
This guy does it for a living so I thought there was another way that I'm not aware of.
No way this guy does this LEGALLY for a living if he seriously thought he was going to use 12-2 for a dryer.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-11-2012)
Old 09-11-2012, 06:40 PM   #7
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Default

Electric Dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

No way this guy does this LEGALLY for a living if he seriously thought he was going to use 12-2 for a dryer.
That's what I was thinking! It can not be done safely with just 12/2. I'm hoping she just misunderstood him.
But the hard wire is no good either,correct?
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:44 PM   #8
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,258
Default

Electric Dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
That's what I was thinking! It can not be done safely with just 12/2. I'm hoping she just misunderstood him.
But the hard wire is no good either,correct?
I wouldn't hard wire a dryer... but I don't see the violation either as long as a disconnect is in place.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:50 PM   #9
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,061
Default

Electric Dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

I wouldn't hard wire a dryer... but I don't see the violation either as long as a disconnect is in place.
Disconnect in place,meaning the breaker?
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 06:57 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,258
Default

Electric Dryer


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
Disconnect in place,meaning the breaker?
Sure, that would be meet the requirement. but seriously, it would be silly to hard wire a dryer. Also, the dryer may require a cord to be installed...

__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 09-11-2012 at 07:00 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric dryer wont start Kitchen Aid model KEYS700GQO crankcase Appliances 4 05-18-2012 12:43 AM
Electric dryer fire prevention Know It ALL Safety 2 12-08-2010 08:53 AM
Gas Dryer and Electric Washer amp demands mvmposton Electrical 2 02-05-2010 09:37 AM
New electric dryer is blowing breaker! minameismud Electrical 7 09-14-2008 10:45 PM
wiring outlet for electric dryer TSMO Electrical 7 11-26-2007 09:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.