Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2010, 06:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

electric current going to ground ? help


I need some advise, plugged in a industrial sewing machine,
it only has a two wire cord, anyway, it works just fine, and I have
even plugged it is both ways, and the cord Cap has only the small prongs, so you can reverse the Hot / Neu. that didn't change the
problem of a leakage to ground.
when you run one of those proximity testers close to the steel frame, the light blinks and the devices emits the ringing sound.
Which tells you that we have voltage going to ground, the machine
sits on a Cement garage floor, however when I take my Multi - Meter
and I try to test just exactly how much voltage is actually going to
ground, I just get a zero reading. I think that I am doing it correctly,
I put one lead on the frame, and the other lead on to the cement floor. ?
Now, here is what I would like some advise on, how should I ground
this sewing machine, do I just install a three wire power cord, if so
where do I put the green ground wire, to the Frame or the Motor, or maybe both . ? ?
I am also thinking about running a separate ground to all the machines,
as there are four, but the others are A - OK, they have no leakage, but
they are all three wire, do I put in a Ground Rod or Pipe, sink it approximately four foot, ? and run a copper wire to it and the machines,
if so what size, ? anyone that can give me some information it would be appreciated. Thank You PIGEONS

PIGEONS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 06:09 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

electric current going to ground ? help


Quote:
when you run one of those proximity testers close to the steel frame, the light blinks and the devices emits the ringing sound.
Which tells you that we have voltage going to ground
No. That just means your tester is close enough to a voltage source that your detector picks it up.

The only way you are going to be able to tell is use a voltmeter and measure from the frame of the machine to a known ground. If you read 0 volts, you have no leakage or short circuit..

the machine is apparently double insulated, or very old. If it is double insulated, it is designed to it will not become a death hazard. If it is simply very old, then yes, a 3 wire cord and attach the ground to the metal parts of the machine. All metal parts should be interconnected within the machine.

The equipment grounding conductor of the cord would connect to the premises egc via the third prong of the plug and recep. You would not need to drive a ground rod for this at the machines.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ground electric panel victormtino Electrical 5 09-27-2010 06:00 AM
Help if it's not too late!! Cyndi Electrical 255 10-10-2008 09:18 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM
Sub-panel grounding question. gesoneguy Electrical 31 02-22-2008 08:25 AM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 01:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.