Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-30-2008, 05:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Electric Cooktop to Gas


Hey Guys ...

First post ~ need some help.

Just replaced my wife's electric cooktop with the a gas cooktop. Surprisingly, the conduit was only 3-wire (Black, Red and White). No ground wire. We built the home in 1992 (State of WA).

Needed to provide 110 to the new stove, for the pilot light. Obviously, used the white and black ...but, did not connect a ground wire. The plug for the stove and downdraft both have 3-prong plugs.

Is "no ground" wire a problem? If so, should I use the "red" wire (which is now unused) as a ground wire? Running a new wire would be a major under taking ~ i.e. lots of sheet rock between kitchen and panel (in garage).

We're trying to prepare our home to put on market, so want to ensure this is done right and poses no risk to future owners.

Thanks!
Kelly ....

spafford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 10:04 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,581
Default

Electric Cooktop to Gas


The proper way to do this is to get into the panel, remove the 30, 40 or 50 amp two pole breaker , put a 20 amp single pole in one of the now empty slots, and land the black wire on it. The white should already be on the neutral bus. Put some green tape on the red wire, and land it on the ground bus. (If this is the main panel, not a subpanel, there's only one shared neutral/ground bus.)

Now, at the outlet, black is hot, white is neutral, and put more green tape on the red to make it the ground.

You now have an actual 20 amp circuit, just with oversize wire.

Rob

micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2008, 10:40 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Electric Cooktop to Gas


Thank you, Rob. That's exactly what I will do. Didn't think about the green tape. Was concerned I might cause someone some grief if they say the red wire connected to the common bus. The "green" tape seems like a rational solution.

Thanks a bunch,
Kelly ....
spafford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 05:43 AM   #4
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Electric Cooktop to Gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by spafford View Post
Hey Guys ...

First post ~ need some help.

Just replaced my wife's electric cooktop with the a gas cooktop. Surprisingly, the conduit was only 3-wire (Black, Red and White). No ground wire. We built the home in 1992 (State of WA).

Needed to provide 110 to the new stove, for the pilot light. Obviously, used the white and black ...but, did not connect a ground wire. The plug for the stove and downdraft both have 3-prong plugs.

Is "no ground" wire a problem? If so, should I use the "red" wire (which is now unused) as a ground wire? Running a new wire would be a major under taking ~ i.e. lots of sheet rock between kitchen and panel (in garage).

We're trying to prepare our home to put on market, so want to ensure this is done right and poses no risk to future owners.

Thanks!
Kelly ....
You mentioned conduit. It may be worth looking into and see if that conduit provides a ground path back to the panel.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Electric bill too high, what can I do? pirategirl007 Electrical 24 01-19-2009 10:35 AM
Electric cooktop vs. Gas cooktop Krichton General DIY Discussions 5 06-16-2008 07:26 AM
Electric tankless hot water heater former33t Plumbing 2 02-28-2008 11:40 AM
need help with a new cooktop m_shel Electrical 9 02-08-2008 09:56 AM
electric oil boiler? for hot water? jamesdart Plumbing 2 01-13-2008 08:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.