Electric Conduit Sizing - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-06-2014, 07:07 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

electric conduit sizing

Hello
Can anyone tell me what size PVC electric conduit I will need with (4) 16 gauge conductors , (3) 6 gauge conductors and 1 # 8 ground. This is for a home standby generator I am installing- code states I can house the control wires and line wires in the same conduit as long as I use THHN 600 volt rated conductors. I think 1-1/2' will do but im not sure.

2nd question, the feeder to my meter pan is 2-1/2" plastic conduit- this goes directly through a KO on the bottom of the pan with a bushing on the end of the pipe. I will be placing a 2" plastic pipe nipple with a male adapter on each end- is this acceptable with a simple lock nut and bushing as well? I live in NJ. I am an electrician from NY- who is not used to working with plastic pipe, just moved to NJ

Any help would really be appreciated.

Egmech

Advertisement

egmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 07:29 PM   #2
E2 Electrician

Rewards Points: 2,118

electric conduit sizing

Quote:
Originally Posted by egmech View Post
Hello
Can anyone tell me what size PVC electric conduit I will need with (4) 16 gauge conductors , (3) 6 gauge conductors and 1 # 8 ground. This is for a home standby generator I am installing- code states I can house the control wires and line wires in the same conduit as long as I use THHN 600 volt rated conductors. I think 1-1/2' will do but im not sure.