Electric - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2012, 07:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric


I have a new breaker box and new garage, ever since the wiring for the garage has been completed the power in only some rooms goes out but the breaker switch doesn't trip in order to turn the power back on in those rooms we have to switch off the main power and turn it back on any ideas what is happening?

Advertisement

neugal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:28 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Electric


Loose connection somewhere. Are the rooms that go out all on the same breaker? If they are then problem is likely on that circuit. If they are on more than one circuit then the problem could be with the incoming power to your house. One of the hot leads could be loose.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 11:58 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Electric


They are on separate breakers, and it's always the same ones that go out, should I just check the connections on the breakers that keep going out?
neugal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 12:52 PM   #4
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,301
Rewards Points: 2,180
Default

Electric


You may want to call up the firm that did the wiring, there is clearly a problem somewhere, and it may be difficult to find without equipment and knowledge of circuitry.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:15 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,362
Rewards Points: 3,518
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Electric


Sounds like one of the hot feeds to your box might be loose. A call back to the electrician who did the install is your best suggestion.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 04:24 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Electric


Moved to Electrical forum.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
neugal (10-28-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electric versus propane water heater Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Appliances 7 01-30-2012 06:23 PM
Water heater - Gas or Electric Sartrean Appliances 17 01-13-2012 05:45 PM
90 amp electric car charger! The future... Billy_Bob Electrical 16 02-16-2010 03:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts