Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-21-2007, 10:04 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Electrial service to my new garage

Gents, I'm glad to have found this site. I just built me a 3 bay garage.Now I need to power it up.
In my younger days I worked part time as an electrians helper (many noons ago). I thought I new the size wire I needed till I read the post on the 350 ft. supply run to the boat dock.
If someone would be so kind to help me spec my materials for this project.

It starts at my utility room "landlord" panel...150 amp main, ocupied by 4 / 15amp breakers (2 for common lighting, 2 for natural gas boilers). This is where I would like to feed out of with a 100 amp breaker.

110ft run thru 1.5 in. schedule 40 buried 2.5 ft. deep.

At the garage, should I use a main lug panel?? or I prefer a main breaker if that is acceptable.

I seem to remember about a sub-panel bonding screw or ????

The garage panel is considered a sub-panel ??? so I need 4 wires to it ???, using the house ground???.....I was thinking 2-2-2-4 ______????? (110 ft.)

power needed....Lift 12amps @ 220.....compresser 14amps @220
2 GDO's.....furnace / boiler......lighting...outlets for power tools....

Any thoughts would be greatly appricated...workin off extension cords, on a creeper, in a dimmly lit and cold, but brand new garage....Al

econoline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 11:37 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

It's best to run 4 conductors (HHNG), and remove the bonding screw in the sub-panel, so neutral is separate from ground all the way back to the main panel.

You can have a main in the subpanel.

You'll need a grounding rod near the subpanel, unless the garage is attached to the building that houses the main panel.

NateHanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2007, 12:12 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 75

110ft run thru 1.5 in. schedule 40 buried 2.5 ft. deep.