Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2010, 05:28 PM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Share |
Default

elec wire is too short


WE carry some of these on our service van, and have used them on occasion where it is impractical to use an accessible junction box.

While the web site shows one used for a circuit tap, I personally don't use those.

Many electrical suppliers carry these in stock, and don't have a minimum order if you buy them off the shelf.

Finally, yes they are approved for use in single family homes. The text of 1999 NEC Article 336-21 is the same as the 2008 NEC 334.40(B):

Quote:
Devices of Insulating Material. Switch, outlet, and tap devices of insulating material shall be permitted to be used without boxes in exposed cable wiring and for rewiring in existing buildings where the cable is concealed and fished. Openings in such devices shall form a close fit around the outer covering of the cable, and the device shall fully enclose the part of the cable from which any part of the covering has been removed. Where connections to conductors are by binding screw terminals, there shall be available as many terminals as conductors.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!

Last edited by kbsparky; 04-20-2010 at 05:43 PM. Reason: Emphasis added
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 11:49 AM   #17
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

elec wire is too short


For what it's worth, I talked to my inspector last night. He said he would not approve anything other than an accessible j-box for any splice.

I described the device we are discussing and he said it's a no-go. My suspicion is that he is unaware of these devices and their UL listing, but it means I will have to install a box.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 12:44 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

elec wire is too short


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
For what it's worth, I talked to my inspector last night. He said he would not approve anything other than an accessible j-box for any splice.
The more code I try to read on the subject, the more confused I become.

As an example, it seems like 334.40(B) seems to say it's ok to conceal a device, but it includes switches. Why would you EVER want to allow someone to conceal a switch?

Even if you pointed out 334.40(B), the inspector could still logically shoot it down because you are trying to make a "splice" and not a "switch", "outlet", or "tap" AND you are not fishing the wires (they are already in the wall presumably nailed to studs). Though why that would make a difference I can't say.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 01:25 PM   #19
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

elec wire is too short


The wires were fished, not attached to studs. I will nail it to the studs myself. I'm just going to install a box to make it easier.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 04:03 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

elec wire is too short


I don't think it says that the "device" may be buried, just that it does not need a box.

When the "device" is something like a switch, it is of course not buried.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 04:17 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Default

elec wire is too short


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
I don't think it says that the "device" may be buried, just that it does not need a box.

When the "device" is something like a switch, it is of course not buried.
See, this is where things start getting confusing...

The idea that the "device" doesn't need a box is simple to understand.

But when you start talking about the "device" being used on a cable [that] is concealed and fished, how can the cable be concealed but the device not?


I can understand secutanudu's inspector turning down the device. I also get the feeling that 334.40(B) doesn't apply to his situation. But other than the word "splice", I can't come up with a valid argument as to why.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 08:47 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Default

elec wire is too short


I am checking with our local building official on Thursday. These are worth every penny if you don't want to see a couple of blank covers in the ceiling.
Thanks KBsparky
gary h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 08:53 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

elec wire is too short


For me I'd rather have a box
I don't like splices, can't imagine burying one in the wall
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 09:05 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Question

elec wire is too short


KB Sparky. They are very much in use in Europe. Thy're called "Chocolates" (Not the edible kind). What about accessibility???!! (The ultimate symbol of confusion)!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 09:13 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Thumbs up

elec wire is too short


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
For what it's worth, I talked to my inspector last night. He said he would not approve anything other than an accessible j-box for any splice.

I described the device we are discussing and he said it's a no-go. My suspicion is that he is unaware of these devices and their UL listing, but it means I will have to install a box.
The UL listing only affirms that the device is functioning as per the ratings. (i.e.; mechanical strength; good contact; electrical ratings: But as for the method of installation (accessibilty, etc.) the UL has nothing to say about. The NEC is the authority on that!!

spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 08:36 AM
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 06:41 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Decommissioning old armored wire circuit toddmanqa Electrical 6 12-04-2009 08:55 AM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 09:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.