Elec Wire Is Too Short - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2010, 12:26 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

elec wire is too short


I cut a doorway opening into a room. There are 3- 14/2 romex cables going down to 2 outlets. The outlets must move about 3 ft. House is 2 story and this wall is in the middle. There is no way to pull new wire and the old is to short. Is there any legal way to extend these "without a j-box"?

Advertisement

gary h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 12:31 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

elec wire is too short


unfortunately, no. all connections must be in a j-box that is accessible.

Advertisement

acerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to acerunner For This Useful Post:
gary h (04-20-2010)
Old 04-20-2010, 02:22 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

elec wire is too short


Try this product. Box not required:
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 04:47 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

elec wire is too short


hmm, interesting. There are planty products that can connect two wires, but question is, is that approved by code to be used in-wall without accessibilty? Might have to check with local inspector. In my book, no connector is 100% fail-proof, so having it accessible would be a good idea even if approved.
acerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 05:21 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,415
Rewards Points: 828
Default

elec wire is too short


I know ksparty would not recommend a sham.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 05:32 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 445
Rewards Points: 250
Default

elec wire is too short


oh, i don't doubt his expertise. I'm just curious if its something thats acceptable by national code, or if its just something accepted by his local inspector. If it is accepted in NEC, i will have to keep this in mind for the future if i need to fix electricals.
acerunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 08:15 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

elec wire is too short


You could also add additional receptacles on each side of the door frame and use those boxes to make the cable extension. Are all these cables serving the room they are in or are they just running thru?
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 09:06 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

elec wire is too short


A splice where the wires are twisted to not pull apart plus bonded with solder is the most reliable splice you can have.

But the only commonplace use of such a splice in home wiring goes back to the 1930's -- knob and tube wiring! (Not all K&T electricians soldered their connections.)

A cursory look at some of the accessories picture above suggests they are constructed similarly to backstabbed connections on receptacles and switches.

Not needing a j-box (as advertised for the above pictured accessories) does not equate to not needing accessibility.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-20-2010 at 09:16 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 09:54 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

elec wire is too short


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Not needing a j-box (as advertised for the above pictured accessories) does not equate to not needing accessibility.
I find it interesting that they claim "[these connectors] eliminate the need for junction boxes, covers, wire nuts, and box connectors", but the electrical codes they site is for things like manufactured homes and recreational vehicles. They make no mention about sections that indicate j-boexs are required.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 10:41 AM   #10
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

elec wire is too short


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Try this product. Box not required:
Wow, that may be a lifesaver for me. Cut wire by accident in the wall, see my other thread.

Any idea where to get them, and if inspectors would normally accept it in an inaccessible location?

Edit: looks like the website has listings of where to buy it.
__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 04-20-2010 at 10:55 AM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 11:47 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

elec wire is too short


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Try this product. Box not required:
I did a little bit more digging, and from what I've seen, these don't sound like the "magic bullet" it sounds to be.

For one, this isn't a brand new type of device. So of the documentation on the products at the tyco site is dated 19-Oct-2000. So if this product was a "magic bullet" for all those times people have wanted a burried splice in electrical forums, I would have thought that we would have heard about them by now. But prior to today, the only place I've ever seen references to splices not requiring a box was buried (under ground) applications.

Second, the documentaion doesn't appear to indicate that this product is ment for use in single family dwellings. Here's a quote from the product documentation:

<Start Quote>

3.2 Applications
These devices are Underwriters Laboratories Inc. (UL) Listed to U.S. and Canadian safety standards under UL File E57250 for use in manufactured buildings in accordance with 1999 NAtional Electrical Code (NEC) Article 545-13 (Component Interconnections); mobile homes, manufactured homes, and mobile home parks NEC Article 550-10(k) (Wireing Methods and Materials and Component Interconnections); and recreational vehicles and recreational vehicle parks NEC Article 551-47(o) (Wireing Methods and Component Interconnections). The equivalent NEC Articles can be found in the Canadian Electrical Code, Part 1, Section 70, for use in factory built relocatable structures and non-relocatable structures.

The Type NM-1 splicing device is also used with the Type NM-3 T-Tap device (UL listed E57250). This combination (NM-1 and NM-3) is suitable for surface mounting without an outlet boxin exposed cable wiring and in existing buildings/dwellings where the cable is installed in accordance with and as permitted by Article 336-21 (Nonmetalllic Sheathed Cable and Devices of Insulating Material - 1999 National Electrical Code) and the Canadian Electrical Code, Part 1, Section 12-522.

<End Quote>

Now I don't have access to 1999 NEC at the moment, but from everything I've read so far, it doesn't sound like these devices can be used for splices behind drywall in a single family (or similar) dwelling.

The only thing I can't look up at the moment is if 336-21 from NEC 1999 has anything applicable to indcate otherwise.
HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 12:04 PM   #12
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

elec wire is too short


I am going to call my inspector tonight to see if he would approve this in my house. I'll post back with his answer. Not that his answer would apply to everyone, but it's a start.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 12:29 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,028
Rewards Points: 2,236
Default

elec wire is too short


I looked into using these Tyco splices when I was wiring my house. I don't have the paperwork handy but they are certainly approved for single-family residential applications. I ended up not using them because they're insanely expensive.
md2lgyk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 12:43 PM   #14
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

elec wire is too short


Yes, $8 each. Totally worth it for a one-time use, though you have to spend $35 from the website if you order online.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 12:49 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 608
Rewards Points: 500
Default

elec wire is too short


Quote:
Originally Posted by md2lgyk View Post
I ended up not using them because they're insanely expensive.
Based on the web site linked above, I randomly followed the links to purchase one of these items (don't recall which). They were about $8 a piece, but they had a $35 minimum. Then there was the shipping and handling. Couldn't find a link to indicate what the charges would be, but following the check-out process, they don't tell you until AFTER you submit CC#.

So I'm guessing that someone wanting to use these would be looking at around $50 minimum to place an order... unless there is somewhere else to buy.

Advertisement

HooKooDooKu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 09:36 AM
Proper Use of Green Wire Nuts HooKooDooKu Electrical 16 06-29-2012 07:41 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 04:30 PM
Decommissioning old armored wire circuit toddmanqa Electrical 6 12-04-2009 09:55 AM
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 10:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts