Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2012, 08:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

elec


I'm wireing two lights in my basement on one switch, the power from the box runs to the light first and second light then to switch.how would I wire this up

tjhartman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:20 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

elec


You need three conductors so the hot wire from the source passes through the light boxes to the switch. Then the switched wire returns and attaches to each light. The white from the source simply connects to both lights. And the new code requires the white to be present in the switch box also, even if not used.

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:48 AM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

elec


So as jrclen said, you need 3-wire from the first light to the second, then 3-wire to the switch.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 09:49 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,773
Default

elec


Like post #9 in this thread, but with 3-wire to the switch.
http://www.********************/f9/switch-loop-12562/

I see the URL is blocked. Just Goolge switch loop multiple lights and you'll find it. There are tons of diagrams people have very graciously drawn.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.

Last edited by Speedy Petey; 09-09-2012 at 09:51 AM. Reason: Ooops.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad elec. solenoid on top of furnace gas valve with spark ignition jerrybrumley HVAC 5 11-19-2011 08:16 PM
Un-used elec wire..hide in wall? GSaunders02 Electrical 4 08-27-2009 06:34 AM
out with elec cooktop, in with gas mathewmarie Appliances 5 11-08-2008 05:58 PM
Elec short causing A/C problems or A/C problems causing elec problems? Marlon Electrical 2 06-25-2008 02:04 PM
Outdoor lights with seasonal elec. run Digger01 Electrical 13 10-30-2007 03:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.