Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-25-2012, 04:52 PM   #1

Share |
Question

Elaborate Plan for wiring my theater lighting

This is kind of a complicated question, but I think I have figured out how to do it right. I wanted to run it by some folks here before going to the city code enforcer. See the attached diagrams for details.

I am planning a fairly elaborate lighting scheme for my home theater area, mostly because I plan for the theater automation to be a hobby for me. (I'm an electrical engineer)

I want to have banks of lights that I could later choose to group differently onto dimmer switches. For example, I have six can lights. Some people I have talked to think I should dim the front four together and back two separately. Some think I should dim the front two together and back four separately. Some say I should dim them all together.

So I decided I'd run each group of two cans to a junction box, run the switches to a junction box, and then wire the switches to the lights in the junction box - then I could later change it if I decided it should work differently. In addition, this would keep the junction boxes the dimmers were in free from extra wires, since I plan to buy nice dimmers that are fairly deep and would take more space in the switch boxes. And if I find that using switches differently would make it more intuitive, I can change which switch controls which lights easily after the fact. This would also allow me later to possibly control the lights with an automated system.

There are some track lights and rope lights, as well as a couple receptacles that would all come back to the junction box where they'd be connected to the switches/dimmers.