Edison Type Fuse Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2012, 09:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Edison type fuse box


If I have A Breaker box that was installed about 7 years ago, do I still need the edison type fuse box with 15 amp fuses?????? It keeps burning fuses. Now that I look at the fuse socket, the rubber under the center screw is cracked in 4 places. Can someone help?

Advertisement


Last edited by tapper2a; 05-26-2012 at 09:25 PM.
tapper2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:30 PM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Edison type fuse box


No way to answer this question, if you're blowing fuses there is something obviously connected to the fusebox and would have to be relocated to the breaker panel.

Advertisement

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:34 PM   #3
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Edison type fuse box


tappa - please post pictures and we can be more helpful
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:39 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Edison type fuse box


The dryer is connected to both
tapper2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:43 PM   #5
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Edison type fuse box


yikes - my instincts are to recommend my "you might want to call a pro" but until we see pictures ill refrain from saying it. oops i said it anyway
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2012, 09:51 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Edison type fuse box


I tried to send pics but as I am not computer literate, They would not go. All I want to know is if I need both? I have someone who can remove it.
tapper2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 12:41 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,758
Rewards Points: 632
Default

Edison type fuse box


15 Amp. is not even close the the size fuse needed for a dryer.
Call a pro before something starts burning.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 08:16 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Edison type fuse box


There may be a loos contact or loose connection in the fuse socket. Any loose connection will heat up and physically burn itself and nearby objects.

The specific fuse socket would have to be either repaired or decommissioned and in the latter case its branch circuit could be moved to the new breaker panel with a junction box just outside the fuse panel if you need to splice on a section of cable to reach.

If you are consistently blowing fuses, then the branch circuits in question may be overloaded. You can get "slow blow" fuses to handle circuits that have a load that draws a lot of amperes for just a few seconds to start up with.

Advertisement

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Bryant Gas Furnace - Fuse Keeps Blowing DIYerIT HVAC 2 01-08-2012 05:22 PM
Old Square D Fuse panel problem beadenuser7 Electrical 13 11-22-2010 02:30 PM
100 Amp Fuse - issue - HELP! Leenders Electrical 9 06-02-2008 05:06 PM
Problems with new fuse box for a dryer. needsomehelp Electrical 12 04-11-2008 12:20 AM
Need help with Type T and TL fuses? Fotoguy Electrical 6 03-04-2008 02:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts