Eave Outlets - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2007, 02:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

eave outlets


I am wanting to mount 3 or 4 outlets around my house UNDER THE EAVES for the specific use of seasonal lighting (esp. christmas----my house looks like the North Pole at this time of year). I am always spending a day or so putting the lights up then another day or so running several extension cords, which presents a major fire hazard (not to mention tripping!). I am planning for 1 curcuit which will be 20A direct fed from its own breaker. A feed-thru GFI will be the 1st outlet on this line. QUESTION---Is this legal?

Advertisement

hockeyfan33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 04:42 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

eave outlets


Absolutely. This is becoming a very common thing. It's been done for a long time for roof de-icing cables.

I would suggest at least two circuits though. Maybe three.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 06:58 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,338
Rewards Points: 3,470
Blog Entries: 4
Default

eave outlets


I would put the GFCI inside the house along with a switch. Last thing you want is to need to get a ladder out to reset the GFCI in the middle of winter.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2007, 11:00 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Question

eave outlets


This is great news! I am doing this tomorrow. I found I only need 3 outlets under the eaves for the roof lights---my wife is scared of the larger C7 or C9 bulbs and has always insisted that we put up the mini-lites! ( note the optimum word--WE!)

I think one 20A service is adequate for this.

This now presents another question. I only have 3 outlets in my garage. 1is in the ceiling for the garage door opener (it's the same curcuit as my central heat). The next outlet I just added the other day---Dedicated 20A to a single outlet for the freezer (not a duplex). The third is a GFI on the wall just above my freezer (chest type). It is tied to 3 other outlets, 1 on the front porch, 1 on the back patio, 1 one in my master bath under the whirlpool tub. PLANS ARE TO LEAVE THIS CURCUIT ALONE!

I want to add other outlets in the garage and of course the 1st in the curcuit is to be a feed-thru GFI. QUESTION: Can I tap off of this and go thru to the outside for 2 or 3 boxes in my flower beds for low-voltage lighting transformers?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!
hockeyfan33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 06:47 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,338
Rewards Points: 3,470
Blog Entries: 4
Default

eave outlets


There are no restrictions in the code to forbid exterior receptacles onthe same circuit as the garage. Yes you can do it.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2007, 09:07 PM   #6
Extreme DIY'r Adk's, NY
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 293
Rewards Points: 250
Default

eave outlets


i put a single gfi protected receptacle in my garage and then the soffit receptacles are tied to that one. you can do the same with landscape lights. btw, your whirlpool receptacle should be on a dedicated gfi.

Advertisement

crecore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 08:11 PM
Replacing light killed downstream outlets, totally stuck amissner Electrical 5 07-13-2006 07:02 AM
two GFCI outlets at bath vanity Hickory Electrical 6 12-18-2005 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts