Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2008, 02:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

an easy way to deterimine if old plug is 20 or 30A?


Hello there!

i have a dorky question, i am sure. i have an old outlet in my spare bedroom that looks like a round 220V outlet - it's right below a window so i am assuming it's from an old window A/C unit (the house had central H/A when i bought it).

is there a way for me to determine how many amps this outlet allows? i have a 240V 28A plug i need to use.

my breaker box is a mess - nothing labeled, and i don't have anything to test whether or not the outlet is on or off if i go through and turn stuff off.

thanks for any advice

ccross6032@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 02:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

an easy way to deterimine if old plug is 20 or 30A?


You need to turn off power and pull the recep out to check the wire size.

#14 is good for 15A, #12 for 20A, and #10 for 30.

It's probably 14 or 12 (15 or 20 amps)

The breaker will be a 2 pole breaker. Turn your 2 pole breakers off one at a time and test power.

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 04:01 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default

an easy way to deterimine if old plug is 20 or 30A?


perfect, thanks
ccross6032@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 06:56 PM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

an easy way to deterimine if old plug is 20 or 30A?


Take the cover plate off and look at what's stamped on the yoke. It should state it's voltage and amperage rating.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 08:01 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

an easy way to deterimine if old plug is 20 or 30A?


Go here and identify the receptacle. Each shape has its own voltage and current rating.

http://www.powercabling.com/nema.htm
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2008, 09:49 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

an easy way to deterimine if old plug is 20 or 30A?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Go here and identify the receptacle. Each shape has its own voltage and current rating.

http://www.powercabling.com/nema.htm
The problem with that chart is both the NEMA 6-15 and 6-30 look the same.

While the configuration appears to be the same, the difference between them in reality is quite huge.

The 15 Amp one is 1.31" in diameter, while the 30 Amp one is 2.11" in diameter.

In simple terms, the 30 Amp one is the same physical size as your standard dryer receptacle.

So, is the receptacle a large one like a dryer, or a smaller one, similar to any standard receptacle?

The other thing to consider is some of the older A/C outlets used the non-grounding crow's foot configuration (NEMA10-20). Those should be replaced in any case.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 07:51 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,346
Default

an easy way to deterimine if old plug is 20 or 30A?


here is a better diagram. The differences are easier to see. Also the votlage and current is probably written on the receptacle somewhere if get down close and look.

http://nooutage.com/nema_configurati...Configurations
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 07:58 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Smile

an easy way to deterimine if old plug is 20 or 30A?


whelp - after looking at it, it's small (not larger like a dryer outlet) with 2 horizontals and the grounding plug..

I do believe it's a 250V, 15A...i will check to see if there is anything written on it when i get home from work.

well, crumb! but it's what i suspected..

thanks everyone for posting!

ccross6032@aol.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New cooking top on old 200V plug sahucd Electrical 3 08-24-2008 06:35 AM
GFI Plug Troubleshooting bryanchr Electrical 4 08-22-2008 05:28 PM
Is it safe to plug in this flourescent fixture? doofalot Electrical 2 08-16-2008 01:27 PM
Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ? hongtea Electrical 4 03-16-2008 08:07 PM
converting hanging light fixture to plug dukeswalker Electrical 2 09-18-2006 09:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.