Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2009, 02:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 301
Share |
Default

Easy THWN question


Running wire to a shed, I need about 130 ft. I already decided just the one 20A line would do (I don't want a subpanel).

Now, 100 ft of that run is inside (the breaker panel is on the opposite corner of the house) then 30 ft of it is outside. What's normal... run the 100ft inside with standard #12 to a box and switch over to THWN and conduit or do the whole thing with THWN (and conduit on the outside).

Thanks


Last edited by Piedmont; 10-09-2009 at 02:36 PM.
Piedmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:46 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

Easy THWN question


If you run THHN/THWN it has to be in conduit from panel to panel. I would run 12/2 to where you will exit the house then transition to conduit and individual conductors.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 04:07 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Easy THWN question


Yup, I ran NMB to my front, then switched over to conduit for the buried run out front

If you GFCI protect the circuit before going underground you can do 12" depth
I used blank face GFCI's, but you could put a GFCI outlet inside too
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 04:22 PM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

Easy THWN question


You could get one of these boxes and put a GFCI in ond then to shed .You will also need a unuse cover you have 1/2 inch con on top fpr gpoing in sofit and bottom for going in the ground
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 04:24 PM   #5
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

Easy THWN question


300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 04:27 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Easy THWN question


You can do a MWBC (multi-wire branch circuit) - 2 circuits that share a neutral
That way you would have 2 circuits just in case
Just a thought

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hrv question indep HVAC 3 07-17-2008 10:39 PM
Hot Tub GFCI Grounding Question kearnak1420 Electrical 3 04-30-2008 05:48 PM
Basement vapor barrier question rob7young Remodeling 2 04-13-2008 09:10 AM
geothermal question robert smith HVAC 2 01-17-2008 08:48 PM
Easy Drywall Question hohandy Building & Construction 10 12-16-2005 12:18 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.