Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2009, 04:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Share |
Default

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Connecting a sub panel in an outbuilding to main service in the house, to a surface mounted 200 amp panel. So far, all the feeds from this main panel enter or exit through the top or bottom punch-out openings, whether in conduit or not. I have a 2" conduit I want to connect, but the only 2" punch-outs are on the side of the box. Is there anything that restricts where you bring in the conduit to the main panel? Thanks, and sorry if this is a really dumb question.
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:31 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,469
Default

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


What size wires are you running?

You can use an LB into the side od the panel, but if you ars using 2/0 copper, or 4/0 al, it will not be fun.
Are you sure that you do not have a graduated scale of knockouts in the center of the top and bottom of the panel?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:33 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


You could use a 2"" lb and a box adapter and a 2 "
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:35 PM   #4
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Do you have enough room to use a 2"holesaw (If you atempt shut off main)
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:37 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


I am running 3 #2 copper and a #8 copper ground. The conduit coming from the outbuilding is 2" diameter, and I thought it would be easier to use the 2" conduit all the way to the panel, using the LB's 300Z shows, rather than neck the conduit down. Would three #2's and an 8 even fit in a 1" conduit, much less let you pull them through?
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:40 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
Do you have enough room to use a 2"holesaw (If you atempt shut off main)
And do what with it? Drill through the service panel? Yikes!
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:45 PM   #7
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


You would have to go to 1 1/4 you can put 5#2's -1 inch you can only put 3 #2 thats not including your ground
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:46 PM   #8
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpagel View Post
And do what with it? Drill through the service panel? Yikes!
Has been done hundreds of times
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:51 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,469
Default

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
Has been done hundreds of times
Might be a few more than that!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 04:53 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
Has been done hundreds of times
Can't say I would have thought of that. You mind if I make that the solution of last resort though?
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 05:01 PM   #11
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by tpagel View Post
Can't say I would have thought of that. You mind if I make that the solution of last resort though?
You have to be very,very careful Dont know if i would recomend you try but if you do main off and move all other wires out of the way then when you see it getting close to going through slow down so you don't end up with the bit in the panel (I do it all the time sometimes you have no choice but i have been doing it for 15 years. I also have a nockout pounch but way to much money for a hole Maybe a rental shop would let you rent one for couple of hours

Last edited by 300zx; 07-17-2009 at 05:04 PM.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 05:37 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Electricians use hole saws and punches to make whatever size hole we need.

Every panel I have seen has up to a 2.5" KO in the bottom center.

Hole saws work great up to 1 1/2". 2" is doable but slow. 2.5" just doesn't want to work. Too much surface area to cut thru.

Quote:
The conduit coming from the outbuilding is 2" diameter, and I thought it would be easier to use the 2" conduit all the way to the panel,
2" diameter or 2" IPS (trade size)?

.
Quote:
Would three #2's and an 8 even fit in a 1" conduit,
I don't think anyone suggested using 1"

You could run it up the side and enter with an LB but it would look like an amatuer did it

Last edited by 220/221; 07-17-2009 at 05:41 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:07 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Connecticut, US
Posts: 241
Default

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Every panel I have seen has up to a 2.5" KO in the bottom center.
That one is taken already, and all I have left are 1" diam, though I will check again

Quote:
You could run it up the side and enter with an LB but it would look like an amatuer did it
This whole house looks like an amateur did it! You should see the framing!
tpagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:38 PM   #14
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Default

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
.... when you see it getting close to going through slow down so you don't end up with the bit in the panel
You could always clamp a piece of 1x where you're drilling as a backstop.
__________________
Honey, does this tool belt make me look FAT?
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 06:50 PM   #15
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

easy question - PVC conduit connection to main panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by zpm View Post
You could always clamp a piece of 1x where you're drilling as a backstop.
yes very Good idea

Last edited by 300zx; 07-17-2009 at 07:23 PM.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer switch to main panel connection i6pwr Electrical 3 01-28-2009 06:09 AM
subpanel feed neutral conductor connection in main panel rtoni Electrical 4 09-17-2008 04:29 PM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.