Easiest Way To Ground Inline Surge Protectors? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2010, 12:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Easiest way to ground inline surge protectors?


I've always wondered how companies ground smaller surge device such as inline surge protectors for Cat5 cable, Coax cable, etc. These inline surge suppressors often have a ground wire, or place on the suppressor to ground the protector to the structures grounding system. Is there any other proper way to ground these things other than running a new direct wire to the structures main grounding block? I have heard of people tapping into phone system grounds, is this legit and how would that work? Is there a proper way to tap into a ground inside an existing electrical outlet and then out to the device needing to be grounded? Its just that in some places and businesses, running a new ground wire all the way back would be a nightmare just to ground something like an Ethernet cable. Can you guys advise me on this subject?
- Mike

Advertisement

wmblalock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 09:23 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,035
Rewards Points: 2,868
Default

Easiest way to ground inline surge protectors?


I don't think i have ever seen an ethernet cable that was grounded. I have seen some with a grounded shield.

Grounding of the phone and cable lines should be nearest the point of entry into the building to the building ground.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 11:07 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Easiest way to ground inline surge protectors?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
I don't think i have ever seen an ethernet cable that was grounded. I have seen some with a grounded shield.

Grounding of the phone and cable lines should be nearest the point of entry into the building to the building ground.
The reason I ask about the ethernet cable is because I install a lot of outdoor access points on roofs and in the ground, they are very susceptible to lightning. Also, one of my customers has an ethernet cable that goes from one building to another under ground and equipment on both ends gets zapped often, If I had grounded surge protectors on both ends then it would eliminate this issue.
- Mike
wmblalock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Making a ground for a surge protector Resilient Electrical 4 07-13-2009 08:11 PM
Surge protectors geno2 Electrical 34 03-31-2009 09:15 AM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 03:59 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts