Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 05:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Earthing


I am installing 10 lamp posts with 3000 kw of metal lights on each post for a GOLF range . The height of the pole is 15 feet only. The pole is made of Galvanised MS sheets .do I need to install earthing pits

sanjay agarwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 05:32 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,028
Default

Earthing


Quote:
Originally Posted by sanjay agarwal View Post
I am installing 10 lamp posts with 3000 kw of metal lights on each post for a GOLF range . The height of the pole is 15 feet only. The pole is made of Galvanised MS sheets .do I need to install earthing pits

3000KW -- You need a nuclear power plant.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-12-2012)
Old 09-12-2012, 05:47 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

Earthing


Your electrician will know what to do.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-12-2012), stickboy1375 (09-12-2012)
Old 09-12-2012, 05:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Earthing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Your electrician will know what to do.
thanks. and sorry it is 3KW. one electrician say we need it, another says these are metal posts and very low, thus we dont need it
sanjay agarwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:46 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Earthing


What is an "earthing pit" and what country are you located in?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:59 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Earthing


3kw by ten poles. I'd rather not have that hydro bill. Each pole would have to be fed with 8's or bigger depending on voltage drop if they're 120v. I've done a ton of parking lot lighting and your numbers seem a little extreme.

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
earthing rod adamw1 Electrical 1 08-05-2012 04:35 PM
2way switch earthing Heve Electrical 2 04-22-2012 08:39 AM
Earthing conductor in ground ... John Lesniak Electrical 9 01-15-2012 03:01 PM
electrical earthing karicheti72 Electrical 1 12-27-2010 08:47 AM
Need diagram + procedure for earthing my newly built house in the lawn shaddi Electrical 11 03-09-2009 01:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.