Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 11:07 AM   #16
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Share |
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by gobug View Post
I just went through this grounding and NEC2011 for my electrical permit in CO. I could not have succeded without the book and my electrician friend.

My building site is on a granite mountain. We tried, but could not pound the grounding rod far enough into the ground. I had the excavator dig a trench near my sub panel. Since it is a sub panel, I only need one grounding rod.

Before I bought the property, it had a house that burned down. The garage is still standing (150ft from the former house and transformer), but no electricity. My permits are to connect the garage and begin the process for a new house.

When the inspector came to inspect the trench and grounding we discussed a bit about the future house. He mentioned a Ufer grounding system. NEC has nothing about this, but I did find some details on line. Does anyone here know about Ufer?
Says who?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:10 PM   #17
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,216
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by gobug
I just went through this grounding and NEC2011 for my electrical permit in CO. I could not have succeded without the book and my electrician friend.

My building site is on a granite mountain. We tried, but could not pound the grounding rod far enough into the ground. I had the excavator dig a trench near my sub panel. Since it is a sub panel, I only need one grounding rod.

Before I bought the property, it had a house that burned down. The garage is still standing (150ft from the former house and transformer), but no electricity. My permits are to connect the garage and begin the process for a new house.

When the inspector came to inspect the trench and grounding we discussed a bit about the future house. He mentioned a Ufer grounding system. NEC has nothing about this, but I did find some details on line. Does anyone here know about Ufer?
You still need two ground rods at a sub panel, or be able to prove less that 25 ohms resistance.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 12:31 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


i had just had 2 solar systems installed and both of them each have 2 ground rounds on each. solar company said it is standard practice of their's (in NJ)
JStofik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 01:39 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 146
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Sorry, I did place a ground rod in the trench which branched off the trench containing the conduit. The bonding jumper goes from the rod into the sub panel to the grounding terminal bar. It is separate from the cables and ground in the conduit.
gobug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 04:07 PM   #20
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements





This is the proper picture...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (08-08-2012)
Old 08-08-2012, 04:13 PM   #21
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,674
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


When did they chance supplemental electrode to "augment" electrode??
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 06:38 PM   #22
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
When did they chance supplemental electrode to "augment" electrode??
Its worded like that in the 2005, 2002 NEC editions...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-08-2012 at 06:41 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:25 PM   #23
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,674
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Its worded like that in the 2005, 2002 NEC editions...
I've always referred to that as a supplemental electrode, like in 250.53.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:36 PM   #24
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I've always referred to that as a supplemental electrode, like in 250.53.
Me too, but its the incorrect wording, as far as the NEC is concerned... but we all get the idea...

aug∑ment/Űgˈment/
Verb:
Make (something) greater by adding to it; increase: "he augmented his income by painting houses"

sup∑ple∑ment (spl-mnt)
n.
1. Something added to complete a thing, make up for a deficiency, or extend or strengthen the whole.

Pretty close definitions if you ask me....
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-08-2012 at 07:57 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (08-08-2012)
Old 08-11-2012, 11:33 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 107
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Thanks for the replies.

So connecting the 2 grounding rods is 6 gauge wire.

Is that solid or stranded?

How deep do you guys usually bury the wire? Or, does the code specify a specific depth?
__________________
Flooring Installer. Ecological Restoration Technician. Green Building Enthusiast. Obsessed with insulating and air sealing.
wewantutopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 12:15 AM   #26
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by wewantutopia View Post
Thanks for the replies.

So connecting the 2 grounding rods is 6 gauge wire.

Is that solid or stranded?

How deep do you guys usually bury the wire? Or, does the code specify a specific depth?
#6 cu, bare or insulated, depth is not an issue... I try not to make it a tripping hazard.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:31 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 107
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Is it better to use stranded or solid #6 wire for the earth grounding rods?
__________________
Flooring Installer. Ecological Restoration Technician. Green Building Enthusiast. Obsessed with insulating and air sealing.
wewantutopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:32 PM   #28
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by wewantutopia View Post
Is it better to use stranded or solid #6 wire for the earth grounding rods?
Both are useless, so it doesn't matter.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:33 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Woodstock, IL
Posts: 107
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


wait, what??
__________________
Flooring Installer. Ecological Restoration Technician. Green Building Enthusiast. Obsessed with insulating and air sealing.
wewantutopia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 06:34 PM   #30
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,243
Default

Earth Grounding Rod Requirements


Quote:
Originally Posted by wewantutopia View Post
wait, what??
What? you think ground rods catch lightning bolts and save your house? lol, Home owners insurance is a better investment.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding Switches.... stickboy1375 Electrical 3 08-03-2012 06:59 AM
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
Fried electronics after earth ground accidentally disconnected oukachiru Electrical 7 07-12-2011 03:05 PM
NEC Question Jafsvcs Electrical 1 06-13-2007 05:45 PM
3 phase anyone? Tomkah Electrical 3 01-05-2007 05:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.