Earth Ground Test - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2009, 06:44 AM   #1
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Earth ground test


Is there anyway to test the earth ground conductor other than use a meter and wire to reach the ground rod and the panel. I am asking because if you just look in the panel and the ground conductor is connected does not mean it is connected to the ground rod or that it is not broken. Thanks

Advertisement

__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 08:04 AM   #2
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Earth ground test


If the ground rod is outside why not just run a new ground to the meter socket? Or if its in the basment run a new ground to the panel. Instead of playing the guessing game

Advertisement

dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 08:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Earth ground test


I'm with dSilanskas, even if you had testing equipment, the ground could be touching, lets say, a water pipe.

Try to give a pull on the rod, some people cut them short...
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 09:23 AM   #4
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Earth ground test


Maybe I wrote the question wrong. How do you check to see the ground conductor is connected to the ground rod and is not broken anywhere. I am thinking of older installations. Seems that just because the conductor is clamped to the ground rod and the panel ground doesn't seem to be a good verification of the ground network. What if the wire is broken in the wall. Hope this is stated better.
Thanks
__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 11:21 AM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Earth ground test


The simplest way would be to just run a wire outside and check for continuity between the panel and outside. It would be a very low reading if not zero. Or you could disconnect it (carefully), at say the panel, and take a continuity reading between the ground wire and neutral. It should be very high but not infinite.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 07:07 AM   #6
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Earth ground test


Thanks inphase. that is what I was looking for. This is in a 3 story condo and running a wire to the ground rod if I could find it was not a good option.

Advertisement

__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bonding Ground in Conduit jamiedolan Electrical 5 01-26-2010 11:14 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
To ground or not to ground, that is the question cartalker Electrical 8 10-18-2008 11:12 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM
3 phase anyone? Tomkah Electrical 3 01-05-2007 06:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts