Duplex Outlet--how Many Circuit Runs - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2010, 08:39 PM   #16
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Duplex Outlet--how many circuit runs


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lockeset View Post
He could use a bathroom circuit provided it's not the 1 20A circuit required for said bathroom.
Lockeset let me make it little more clear on that one before someone get amonk on this one .,,

As long that bathroom do have seperarted light and receptale circuits that is not a issue as long that circuit do not deal with the bathroom itself { for everything in that room }

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 09:00 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Duplex Outlet--how many circuit runs


Let me make it perfectly clear...again
If you can't keep it within code then don't post it
Instead of helping you are confusing the poster
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (11-23-2010), Jim Port (11-23-2010)
Old 11-23-2010, 09:15 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mount Airy, MD
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Duplex Outlet--how many circuit runs


Folks,


So I remain in limbo now....can somebody give me a definitive answer please.
Did not realize it would stir up a hornets nest
handyd123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 09:19 PM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,033
Rewards Points: 2,864
Default

Duplex Outlet--how many circuit runs


I think in one of your posts you said you could grab a nearby 15 amp lighting circuit. This would be acceptable.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 09:25 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Duplex Outlet--how many circuit runs


Quote:
Originally Posted by handyd123 View Post
Hi,

Working on my kitchen and would like to install an overhead light....
Thanks alot----
Adding onto an existing lighting circuit is your best bet
Pulling power from a bathroom outlet circuit, even if by some chance there is a 2nd circuit is not a good idea

Pulling power from a bathroom lighting circuit that does not include outlets is allowed

I prefer not to add lights onto an outlet circuit
If a high power item is used the lights will dim

Sorry for the problem
What you are trying to do is very straight forward
Some people just confuse the matter
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (11-23-2010), handyd123 (11-24-2010)
Old 11-23-2010, 09:27 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Mount Airy, MD
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Duplex Outlet--how many circuit runs


Thanks too all.....
handyd123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 09:32 PM   #22
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Duplex Outlet--how many circuit runs


Quote:
Originally Posted by handyd123 View Post
Thanks too all.....
If you have more question just holler one of us will steer you in correct way.

And yes Dave is correct you can use any light loaded circuits but just keep in your mind just don't use bathroom receptales circuit { the lighting circuit is just fine } or dinning room or garage circuits they are pretty much off limit for code issue.

Oh yeah that right I almost forgot just don't tap into furance circuit as well.

Anything else is fine.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 04:25 PM
Want to change a single 240 volt circuit with only one outlet, to a 120 volt circuit with a standard 120 volt outlet. covenant Electrical 7 11-09-2010 07:07 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM
Dead outlet and switches on otherwise live circuit viking1974 Electrical 4 08-23-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts