Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2011, 08:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 23
Share |
Default

Duplex circuit breakers


My control panel indicates that certain slots (5 on each side) can accommodate 1/2" breakers. So you can fit two 1/2" breakers in a 1" slot thus allowing you to add an additional circuit.

Instead of using 1/2" breakers, can I use duplex breakers?

wavewuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 08:21 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

Duplex circuit breakers


If I understand your question, typically the two 1/2" breakers are in one physical case. There are 2 internal trip mechanisms.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 08:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 23
Default

Duplex circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
If I understand your question, typically the two 1/2" breakers are in one physical case. There are 2 internal trip mechanisms.
As I read the label in the circuit panel, it says I can use two 1/2" breakers instead of a 1" breaker. I would rather use a duplex breaker that is 1" and has two trip mechanisms. Just not sure I can.
wavewuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 08:43 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

Duplex circuit breakers


The breaker you are describing is how you get 2 circuits in a 1" slot.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 08:46 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 23
Default

Duplex circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The breaker you are describing is how you get 2 circuits in a 1" slot.
Yes.....exactly. My question is can I use the duplex breaker instead of two 1/2" breakers? I like the duplex breaker better.
wavewuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 08:58 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

Duplex circuit breakers


The two 1/2" breaker are connected together in one case. I have never seen a 1/2" breaker by itself without the other 1/2" also.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:00 AM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,534
Default

Duplex circuit breakers


If the breaker is listed for use in your panel then you can use them.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:04 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 23
Default

Duplex circuit breakers


Thanks all......I think the duplex will work. My Murray panel indicates which types of breakers I can use (MP for example). I will get that type.
wavewuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 09:05 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 23
Default

Duplex circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The two 1/2" breaker are connected together in one case. I have never seen a 1/2" breaker by itself without the other 1/2" also.
That's what I thought too. Thanks.
wavewuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 10:12 AM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 483
Default

Duplex circuit breakers


Quote:
Originally Posted by wavewuver View Post
That's what I thought too. Thanks.
GE makes 1/2 inch breakers. The GE that are two breakers joined together are two-pole common trip units. BTW, they are tandems, not duplexes. A duplex is a receptacle.

busman is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compatible circuit breakers ZOE18K Electrical 1 04-19-2011 11:33 AM
AFCI circuit breakers Skillbuilder Electrical 6 12-11-2010 10:55 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
Sub-Panel or Tandem Circuit Breakers? dgoldsmith Electrical 2 03-08-2008 12:34 PM
Circuit Breakers Unregistered Electrical 4 09-13-2004 08:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.