Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-16-2011, 11:41 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Exclamation

Dumb electrical question about potentially overloading a power socket

I'm not an electrician or anything, I'm just wondering about an electrical question and this seemed like a good place to ask. I'm going to be taking a cross-country road trip and on the drive I'm going to need about 8 different chargers plugged in and charging, possibly all at the same time; all of the chargers have two-pronged plugs. My car is a 2007 Honda CR-V and, according to the manual, "each socket is intended to supply power for 12 volt DC accessories that are rated 120 watts or less (10 amps)."

Now, I have a 75 watt Radio Shack power inverter, the specs of which are listed here:
http://textsnip.com/515380

And I have an 8-outlet power strip/surge protector which can be seen here:
http://www.officedepot.com/a/product...e-Protector-8/

My idea is to plug the power inverter into the cigarette lighter socket in the car, plug the surge protector into the grounded power outlet on the power inverter and then plug the chargers into the surge protector so that I can charge more than one thing at a time. Each charger that I'll need to plug in has a rating of either "5V 1A" or "8.4V 0.7A" or "8.4V 1.2A" so, if wattage equals volts times amperes (#V times #A) then those ratings would equal 5 watts, 5.88 watts and 10.08 watts in wattage...right? If that's correct and the chargers were all plugged in at once then I assume you'd just add up their wattages and as long as that number is under 75 watts then the inverter, the lighter socket, the surge protector and the chargers should all be fine...right? I added the wattages up and it totals to around 70 watts so even if they were all plugged in at once they'd still be below the limit for both the inverter (75W) and the car (120W).