Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2008, 04:44 PM   #1
Member
 
tonyBagadonuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Dual Wattage Elements


I have a GE water heater with a 4500/3380 watt rating element. Can I replace this with a standard 4500 or can I go to a lesser wattage?? Tank only serves a kitchen and 1 vanity so not a high end user of hot water.
thanks

tonyBagadonuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 04:53 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Dual Wattage Elements


Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyBagadonuts View Post
I have a GE water heater with a 4500/3380 watt rating element. Can I replace this with a standard 4500 or can I go to a lesser wattage?? Tank only serves a kitchen and 1 vanity so not a high end user of hot water.
thanks
how many gallons is this?

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 05:28 PM   #3
Member
 
tonyBagadonuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Dual Wattage Elements


This is a 40 gal tank and it is a 2 element tank. Both elements show the dual wattage of 4500/3380.
tonyBagadonuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 06:05 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Dual Wattage Elements


the reason why you see the dual wattage marking on the water heater element due two diffrent voltage running in the system

the 4500 watt marking is on 240 volts system while the 3380 watts is used on 208 volt system.

that element with dual wattage rating it dont hurt to run either 240 or 208 volts

Majorty of the resdential area useally are 120/240 v system but there are some spots that used 120/208 v system [ that is network feed from 3 phase supply ]

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2008, 06:14 PM   #5
Member
 
tonyBagadonuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Dual Wattage Elements


That makes sense........ Thanks much Marc
tonyBagadonuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual switch ktrydancer Electrical 2 11-13-2007 10:11 AM
Dual sensor Dual head motion light? sandyman720 Electrical 1 09-26-2007 07:40 PM
Installing Water Heater Elements Steve VA Plumbing 1 06-15-2007 11:58 PM
Amps vs wattage moneymgmt Electrical 8 05-30-2007 08:13 PM
Heat elements making noise helpless handyman HVAC 17 12-06-2006 03:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.