Dual Voltage Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2007, 11:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: portland, OR
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 150
Default

dual voltage box


I've made a mistake, (I'm pretty sure), by combining a light switch with a built in speaker volume control in a double gang box. It all works fine but I now realize the risks of this maneuver. Question is, Do they make a dual voltage old work box? and if so, is that what I need to use?

Advertisement

handifoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2007, 12:09 AM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,241
Rewards Points: 2,452
Default

dual voltage box


Oh it isn't the worst thing on the planet. When you combine premise wiring from the utility with low voltage they make divider plates (partitions) to separate two compartments in the device box. I couldn't find a good image.

Some examples below of different methods






Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High- or Low- Voltage?! Cypherson HVAC 2 10-29-2007 10:32 PM
Problem with line voltage mehranalmasi Electrical 21 07-04-2007 07:12 AM
Low voltage Light Rze Electrical 4 04-21-2007 12:38 PM
Low voltage to vacuum l.schrankel@comcast.net Electrical 2 03-04-2007 10:38 AM
Which low voltage wire scozzer Electrical 2 02-18-2007 11:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts